Happy Fourth! Did the Truly Patriotic and voted for the EOS Block Producers

in #eos6 years ago

I finally got around to voting for Block Producers on the EOS blockchain. If you don't know what the EOS project is, then there are plenty explanations both in text and on YouTube that can do a great job. I'm not going to spend an hour on an explanation for a couple....and may zero people. Rather, I'm going to talk briefly about the voting process and my sentiment on the project moving forward.

The Process

The voting process was a little tedious, but that can be understandable. This was an ICO with ERC-20 based tokens and these tokens had to be registered on another blockchain and to link between an Ethereum address, the new EOS address and the EOS blockchain, I can only imagine is a technical obstacle. First you had to register your ERC-20 tokens on the EOS blockchain by June 2nd. This was an even more tedious process, but obviously worth it because otherwise the tokens would become worthless.

To start the voting process, I had to download Scatter which is a software created to help link registered EOS tokens and accounts to the EOS mainet and allow the voting process to occur. I'm not going to go in depth (mainly because I already forgot), but after following YouTube instructions, I finally arrived at the honey pot. A list of potential block producers each with their own website, team and message. All the buzzwords came to hold the same meeting however, we want your vote and will do wonders for this blockchain.

Arriving at the Promise Land


One theme that struck me through the whole registering and voting process, was how cool it all was. How energizing it was to see so many projects and groups with different ideas and desires if chosen as a block producer. It is cool to be a part of the beginning of this project with different apparatuses popping up from inspired developers that add to the ecosystem and fill a need. Of course, many are motivated by monetary reward, but many are also drawn to the possibilities. The possibilities of a more decentralized blockchain with governance and one able to handle the development & execution of decentralized applications.

I found myself using random and arbitrary attributes to assess different teams. With groups getting my vote based on how good I felt about their team. How specific their contributions to the EOS platform were and trying to get a collection of block producers from different countries. At one point I voted for a team because one of their project members mentioned Ludwig Von Misses, an Austrian Economist whose book I'm reading right now.

El Futuro

This project is in its' infancy and this 4 billion dollar experiment is far from a success as of yet, but with the amount of talent, forward thinking and parties all in on this project I have hope, if not confidence that it will be a success. That success can be many different forms. My interpretation is that EOS will reshape (and in some ways already has) The entire crypto space and beyond.

Sort:  

Lol same here, let’s keep those votes going!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97