EOS Crowdsale Guide (Chrome + Metamask + EOS App)

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

This video explains how to use Chrome, Metamask and the EOS App to purchase EOS tokens in their public crowdsale. Be aware, this information is for people who have a solid understanding of what is an ICO, and understand good investment strategy. Just because I made this video does not mean I think it is good to participate in the EOS ICO for a given individual.

For those not watching the video, I do outline that the EOS price is likely too high at 65 cents per token. Reason being this would put their ICO valuation at 600+ million, which it is very unlikely I think, that they will raise those levels of funds. This means future rounds could come in cheaper than 65 cents per token. It also means when the tokens transfer on exchanges, they may be priced less than 65 cents. My guess at the reason people are bidding up this first round of 20% of the EOS tokens is very likely they want to flip the tokens on an exchange for a profit since there will be limited supply initially.

My Ether Wallet instructions:

https://steemit.com/eos/@sandwich/contributing-to-eos-token-sale-with-myetherwallet-and-contract-inner-workings


STEEMWARS has begun, I have been appointed a judge, and will be weighing in on the submissions from different nations in the steemwars.

Sort:  

thats what we needed , thanks

Thanks a lot. I really enjoy your analysis and tutorials.

Thanks for the guide! So if people are going to be trading tokens before the distribution year ends.. is it possible that some of the tokens traded "publicly" would simply disappear if the original ICO participant didn't register his keys? Or can you only trade them after completing that step?

I can only guess, but my guess is once you have the tokens you need to register them yourself, otherwise you would lose them anyway. My guess is it associates the ETH public address with the EOS public address registered. Then when they take the snapshot, they look at the EOS-ETH tokens in that account. So when they are exchanged, they would have to be re-registered to be valid for the snapshot.

I am also going to guess that exchanges may permit people to register their tokens before the snapshot, however, this does cost money so it may not be free.

had already forgotten that i had bought some eos tokens .. thanks!

I have been using Metamask and I find it really really easy and convenient to use. Maybe EOS has made the wrong move to run the ICO for a year at the same time to also have the tokens trade on exchanges. It would be very interesting to see how this experiment end toward the end of the ICO.

I feel like there has been an abundance of ICO's recently. Some of the sketchy ICO's have been way higher priced than this one. As far as I know this one seems ok, but I still won't risk it on any of these.

Do u really think EOS is gonna break ETH guys ?

becareful with ICO'S guys. very risky

What do you think of the rumors that we are paying for a rebranded copy of bitshares?

Would be worth it, sadly. Crypto is about 80% branding, 20% technology. Plenty of better tech coins sitting below the top 20.

Nothing on the bitshares website says it supports fully programmatic smart contracts. Issuing tokens on a blockchain is not smart contracting, two different concepts. Bitshares seems to allow limited features, but not to launch customized coded projects atop it like Ethereum... so I think this rumor is hyperbole from people who have no idea how this stuff works (most people in crypto these days do not understand it.)

eos agreement says that eos tokens are non transferrable , after ico ends right

It's what I thought initially, but others are saying bitfinex will be trading EOS tokens come July 1st. My assumption is they are non transferable during the window, and now when it closes, they can be traded around.

so in 1 day window ico we can trade them when its over?

I'll tell you for sure in 1 day. :D

Looks like they're trading on Kraken at about $1USD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44