Random Musings of a Cautiously-Optimistic Newbie (and should-have-been millionaire by now)

in #eos7 years ago

I never did an official "introduction" post, but let's just say if I had taken the advice of my former colleague back in the day when he was first digging into the dark corners of the web to discover Bitcoin, I'd be sitting pretty right now.

"Hey David - Bitcoin is up to like $0.01/coin today," says Dan Larimer.

Me.... "Ok, but WTF am I supposed to do with that?"

Dan.... reveals technical explanation - mining, GPUs, blocks, blockchain, anonymous, etc - mixed with visionary tales that go way over my head.

Fast forward to years later, after we both went separate ways and now I'm in hyper-scramble mode to figure this crazy crypto/digital currency and blockchain technology world out.

So, needless to say I'm tip-toeing in on BTS, Steem, and EOS. I knew years ago through our many conversations at lunch that he was easily the smartest person I knew, I just wish I understood at the time how to "bet on Dan."

I've seen posts (not here) about him being on a money-grab, blah blah blah, but recalling the Dan I knew, I'm 100% certain he's doing it for his stated principles of liberty and freedom. The money (have zero clue what he's worth/making - but guessing he's got a nice 'wallet') is just a byproduct of the value he's bringing about.

So I've got a few BTS, a few Steem (although I'm just getting started on here), and a few EOS tokens in the works (assuming I don't get drowned out during this initial Window!).... and I'm cautiously optimistic, but extremely excited, about participating in what may very well change the landscape of many markets.

Which takes me back to my business brain. 1B EOS coins/tokens - and I've heard some people say they'll raise $1B over the year. Wow - that's a LOT to live up to!

But, if you think about the "present value" of what's to come in the next 5, 10 years, that could be dramatically undervalued.

Time will tell, but for now I can't stop reading the Telegram chats and trying to figure this stuff out!

Until next time...

David

newbies (aka, me) be like "wallets or accounts? tokens or coins? blockchain or sidechain? DEX or bitrex? ICO for what...another exchange/wallet?"

Sort:  

Yeah, I feel the same way. I was very interested in Bitcoin when it was just getting started... but didn't buy any. Getting into blockchain now in a big way (well, at least big for me).

Good to have you here on steemit!

@matthewdavid - yes, the concept was super interesting to me early on, but I couldn't follow the logic or future use case of it at the time. I was just thinking it was an old napster concept, based on some kind of crazy math, with some fake money :( Dan tried to enlighten me, it just didn't work at the time.

As an avid reader on the concepts of money, I recognised the great potential (with huge risks of course) of Bitcoin once I learned about it. Years have passed and the price of Bitcoin has reached a level that may seem as the top without further potential. However, we may just have reached the real starting platform yet. So perhaps it is not too late to see Bitcoin take a place as a digital reference of value in an increasingly digital market place.

Congratulations @clickside! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @clickside! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53