EOS Experiencing A DDoS Attack From A Cardano Supporter?

in #eos6 years ago

ddos-attack-eos.png
Can't we all get along? I guess life isn't that easy in crypto land. It appears that the EOS blockchain is under attack and having the memo messages "ADA to the moon" and "Cardano to the moon" spammed repeatedly.

Here is what we know about this user as far as how much EOS they have and how much "bandwidth" and "memory" they have.
ddos-account-info.png
I'm not sure when they will run out of memory doing this like I did when I created all those EOS accounts. I'm actually partially confused at how they got so much memory allocation. I only had 8kb available and my initial account has more EOS staked than that and it doesn't look like they could have bought more with liquid EOS because where would the liquid EOS come from?

Does anyone else have a clue of how they got this much memory?

Earn $10 Of Free Bitcoin From Brian Phobos!  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

This is actually pretty funny. :D

Any blockchain has got to expect a variety of attacks, ranging from simple ddos to 51%. Coping with it well is part of proving the worth of the project.

I like the way IOTA deals with this, by making any spammers part of the infrastructure that actually speeds up the system. Clever!

https://prizz.github.io/iota-transaction-spammer-webapp/

That is pretty interesting what IOTA does. The interesting thing about IOTA prices is that it really hasn't slipped that much in comparison to some projects who really lost ground form their highs.

lol, that person has so few tokens that the network will not even feel their presence. They will also use up there bandwidth very quickly; moreover, the system is designed to respond​ rapidly to a single account filling consecutive blocks, throttling their virtual bandwidth and slowly ramping it back up over 10 minutes (1% increases). Not even an account with 10% of all tokens could make a big impact on the entire throughout,

Also, technically this is a DoS attempt​ as it is a single user.​

You can purchase RAM separately on the RAM trading market which is most likely what this loser did, or they had some else​ delegate resources to them

Hahhahaha, I cracked up at your response. I figured the severity of the situation was minimal but didn't get to really dig deeper to see if there were other accounts spamming out memos.

Can a person access the RAM trading market through cleos? Also once a person uses their ram does it replenish over time? I used up my RAM creating extra accounts but I want to get some more.

This whole situation begs the question of what is just an annoying loser peasant launching a "Cardano marketing" campaign and what is a legit criminal attack on the network?

  • I am not sure if cleos supports it yet, but I got mine using https://toolkit.genereos.io/tools(scatter integration needed).

  • RAM should not deplete, just virtual bandwidth.

  • Agreed, whoever is doing this, male or female clearly has a very small penis which is why they take great * pleasure in performing small "attacks".

Thanks for the link to the toolkit. That should help me figure out how to do it through the command line. That is the first interface I have seen for creating the accounts and all that. I'm still confused on the premium username bidding and when the "bidding" is over and you would get the username.

Anytime pal, hope its’s useful.

Premium bidding is currently set at “14 days” from mainnet activation, after that it will be the highest bid by close of play that “day”.

I am concerned that a day is not really long enough for bidding and which time zone will be the day, I assume UTC. Hopefully I will get the names I have bid on first time around :-)

So early, and someone is already testing EOS. Will EOS become stronger? or will it die?

EOS could just implement a pointer system. So that all the new blocks only take up 4 bytes. Storing the data only once.

But really, this looks like a mere speed bump.

Yeah the way @aclarkuk82 explained it this is basically nothing when it boils down to it.

Interesting, probably just a troll trying to shill ADA more than anything. This guy needs to put his smarts in other places.

Funny find

Yeah you are right. He should spend his time writing something useful. LOL

How has your wife been getting along learning how to write EOS Dapps ?

Cool, we went to the EOS workshop in San Fran last week. Mesnier himself was teaching how to spin up a testnet and do a tic tac toe dapp. It's pretty new, so the learning curve is crazy. there isn't a ton of info out about it. Even the pros were having trouble navigating.
It really just made me realize how early we are.

Anyway, she is coming along decent. A lot to learn, but she is being a savage about it.

There is a week long bootcamp coming up in San Jose that she may attend to get a better grasp. this is definitely a work in progress.

You don't have to tell me twice. I know the feeling. There isn't really enough documentation out there and if you look at some of my recent posts on EOS explaining a few things about making accounts or connecting to the EOS mainnet with cleos and all that a lot of people are having a hard time doing basic stuff. Like I have had some people who are trying to be Block Producers asking me how to do stuff.

I was really proud of myself for figuring out how to create extra accounts. I tried like 1000 different commands I felt like trying to get there and no one would help me because they didn't want to or they didn't know either. I'm planning on doing some little short explainer videos on even doing simple stuff on EOS like connecting to the mainnet or the Jungle Testnet.

I think those will get a lot of search traffic because not that many people know. You can really tell by how many people are even connected to the mainnet. A lot of times it will be like 580 people connected. That isn't that many for someone of this magnitude. But people don't know how to build the software and connect to it.

I don't know if you saw the little post a while back I did but I applied to go to Hong Kong to be a mentor at the Hackathon. Well they got back to me and wanting me to fill out some questions. I was like a day late on it kind of thing and I guess they got others but I was sort of worried I would be exposed as a "fraud" for not knowing as much but I feel like no one knew what was going on. It would be been interesting to know how that hackathon went at such an early stage.

These attacks need to be a criminal offense, and the perps need to pay.

Already following you, bro. Stay real.

Unfortunately, if they own tokens and are only​ using their allocated bandwidth​ they are doing no wrong :-s

Yeah that makes a lot of sense. Plus what if they just wrote a bunch of memo's saying EOS for World Peace or something.

Cool, Blockchain spammers :D

Yep!

Have you been making headway with EOS? Do you happen to know how to buy more Memory on the ram market through Cleos?

cleos system buyram $PAYER $RECEIVER "$QUANT" -p $PAYER
You can download a few useful scripts for common commands here
https://github.com/CryptoLions/EOS-MainNet/tree/master/scripts

Thanks for that! Do you have to have liquid EOS in the account to do it?

Yes, account needs to have some unstaked EOS to pay for the ram.

Cool, but the ram buyed is something consumable or it will regenerate after some time?
I tried to create some accounts but how to allocate the eos to have them fully functional? To be able to make txs?

Each account needs some ram for storing basic account info, 4 kilobytes is the min I think.
You can transfer some tokens to new account after account creation or transfer some eos to newly created account with
cleos system newaccount --stake-net "$STAKE_NET" --stake-cpu "$STAKE_CPU" --buy-ram-kbytes $BUYRAM --transfer $CREATOR $NEWACC $KEY_OWNER_1 $KEY_ACTIVE_1

download scripts from
https://github.com/CryptoLions/EOS-MainNet/tree/master/scripts
for useful commands.

Thanks, i'll try it

Most likely this is just somebody testing the network for max tps.

It is hard saying. He is still going right now.

I am glad he is doing it. Network needs to be pushed to test it's limits.
He managed to get 76 tps which stands as current record for EOS main net.

Well that is good to see what it can achieve. The good thing is it can be pointed to and shown how it has already gone beyond what Ethereum and NEO are capable of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94