Did You Know EOS Will Have 0.5 Second Block Times?

in #eos6 years ago

0-5secBlocks.png

Even HODLing EOS for almost a year now, reading the white paper, doing videos about EOS, consuming as much information about EOS as I can, and running the DAWN 3.x version of the testnet it wasn't until recently that I realized the block time for EOS is 0.5s. To put that into perspective the STEEM blockchain produces a new block every 3 seconds so if things didn't run into latency issues then the EOS blockchain will have 6 times the transaction capacity that the STEEM blockchain has currently and STEEM and BitShares are nowhere near total utilization. That is pretty insane to think about!

Right now my latest video is rendering talking about getting started on the EOS testnet. On June 2nd the mainnet launches but a lot of people are curious about how to get started and what EOS is capable of at this point. I mainly show how to get your environment setup and kind of show people some realizations that I came to when working in the environment.

It is all very confusing but that is normal. If it was easy then everyone would have the capability to be a system admin and be a great programmer. That just isn't the case and it is hard for me as well. My goal is that this will help more people get started with beginner level stuff and be able to create accounts and start working with existing smart contracts and compiling code. After they understand that they can start programming if they already know C++ or they can start looking at online tutorials to learn more.

As we are getting closer to the launch it is looking like block producers are going to be pretty sophisticated teams of people. That actually surprised me. I figured some of the same Witnesses from the STEEM blockchain would be Block Producers there but I think it is going to be tough for individuals to get the votes. We will see though. You might think that because I'm running the testnet and diving into this stuff this deep that I will try to be a Block Producers but I don't feel that I have the means to campaign for it. My main focus right now is to be in position to snag usernames when the mainnet launches. I feel there will be one main EOS implementation which exchanges like Binance and Kraken and others will agree is the real EOS and then there might be some others that launch but they will have a harder time getting exchange support. That is my thinking.

If you look at Linux there are tons of different distributions so a similar type thing might happen in the future with EOS.

Are any of you going to program on EOS?

Earn $10 Of Free Bitcoin From Brian Phobos!  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

Still don't know how @dan plans to solve the issue of usernames,

A lot of people are going to lose their usernames, most especially on the Steemit 2.0

I hope no one snags our usernames and holds them for ransom. I'm thinking more people will focus on usernames like @apple @google @amazon ....etc.

Well the lesser is included in the greater, but just understand what you're saying

I would love to program an EOS soon but i'll have to be ready for whatever outcome because there is more to being a programmer.

On a lighter note,I just noticed "celebrating 20 years on steemit" on your photo..You must be a steemit godfather if so😉.

Yep 20 Years on this blockchain ! 20 more on EOS! Hahahah

@brianphobos So good to read what you just shared here. I am SICK of you know Who (friend of Clif High and Snippy) and his constant EOS "FUD" Everyday........EOS will be Terrific

The FUD is actually getting pretty unreal especially with the recent disclaimers that EOS has released. The wording makes sense to me and I know that EOS has to protect themselves. I'm confident there will be one main implementation of the EOS software that will catch hold and mainly mirror the updates that Block.One comes out with. There might be some other competing implementations of the software that might try to market differently and make different decisions overtime but one one that will launch will likely be up on the major exchanges quickly.

Also I just came out with the video about the test net and I'm really going to combat the FUD in the next couple of weeks.

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80