You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Explained: Why Aren't More EOS Token Holders Voting? (...and Why They Should)

in #eos6 years ago

I can tell you why people are not voting. It's simply because it is too complicated for most people. I love how TRON made it easy and understandable for people how to vote for DAC. I generally have the feeling, that EOS is behind them in many ways...

Sort:  

This right here... I did manage (after a couple of false starts) to get Greymass downloaded and logged in. But it should be a simpler process. I understand EOS is not like STEEM, which is the only other place I vote for Block Producers (Witnesses), but they should have something that makes it easier for the common user to get into their wallet, explore the various BP Candidates, and make selections.

Until you make it easy enough that people with no technical background can vote their stake, and then on top of that, provide a good reason for large stake holders who have not yet voted to vote, little progress is likely to be made.

Right now it is easier to get mad and give up than to actually participate in the democratic process...

Thanks for the feedback. I do agree, things are a bit all over the place and though that could be seen as a bad thing, I see it as a very good thing. We need to be decentralized and resilient. We're still very early in this process and there are already many different tools and websites out there, many of which are being improved on a daily basis. Much of this has to be driven by education so people understand DPOS and what it is they invested in so they'll be motivated to vote in order to protect their investment. That's what I'm trying to do with posts like this.

Have you installed EOS-Voter or SimplEOS? They seem pretty easy to use to me. If there are suggestions for improvements, I'm sure @greymass would love to hear them.

Thank you for your efforts to make this a better experience. I personally managed to get my votes out, but my impression is, that many people don't take the time to research and with TRON I can vote right out of my wallet and the community support was way more accessible in my opinion (e.g. interviews with candidates etc)
I guess in the end it's like iOS vs Android and which ChainOS speaks more to you and fits the usability that matches your tastes.
Anyway - EOS can be glad to have guys like you! Thanks!

Thank you. I think the healthy competition between projects is a good thing and helps keep everyone on their toes. EOS is working to be decentralized, which means they'll have some growing pains to start. But yes, I agree a little more polish along with some well-done reference clients with excellent UI/UX coming from Block One would have been great. Now it's up to us, I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47