It's A Brave New World All Of A Sudden: What To Think About EOS, And Its Crowdsale?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #eos7 years ago

Apparently the EOS website is down right now. Maybe that has something to do with the crowdsale.

I'm curious about holding stake in EOS for the long haul, since I think the idea of day-trading would probably drive me insane. Of course we'll have to see what happens with it as time goes on.

And I'm new to all this ludicrousness. Isn't the bottom line that although some people think it's foolish to buy so soon since they think the price will go down, nobody really knows what'll happen?

Personally, I'm interested in EOS because I think Steemit is very cool and seems to be working...hopefully it's not a ponzi scheme like I've read some people say it is.

And based on what I've heard in videos with Dan speaking, if EOS turns out to be everything it's cracked up to be (and maybe that's a big "if"), it'll solve the problems with Ethereum. I find using Ethereum to be a pain in the ass.

I do wonder if they'll be able to change the architecture significantly enough to enable widespread adoption, or if it would be too difficult without a "from the ground up" redesign. Will EOS, or something like it, be the platform to dominate, or will Ethereum be the "world computer"? Will there be multiple platforms competing for domination, at least for awhile, especially since all these ICOs are popping up all over the place? Will all that move extremely quickly in this post industrial revolution IT age? Lots of unknowns, I think.

And I'm still trying to get a sense of what's up regarding the purchase agreement terms. Does anybody know if Dan has said anything about this? Is everything on the subject just conjecture at this point? I understand lots of people think this crowdsale is a scam, and my understanding is the opposite view is that the language is designed to deal with US securities law. I saw on the website that EOS HQ is listed as being in the Cayman Islands.

Any clarification (if there is any to be had!) on all this would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Sort:  
  1. The website is not down, but it cannot be reached all the time. Probably cannot handle the load or having a DDOS attack.
  2. There is no need to be a day-trader. You can also hold this coin for the long term. In fact, looking at what EOS tries to achieve and the fact that - if this goal is achieved - developments of apps that make the EOS system thrive are still to be developed. First developers need EOS which is being coded right now (I understand). So the real prospects of this network are still years ahead of us. That favours a long term holding strategy and not day trading.
  3. The price of tokens is high when calculating a market cap based on this price. But the ICO will last for more than 300+ days with 2 million tokens available each day. Price could go down considerably when interest fades.
  4. The current proceeds of the ICO should bee more than enough already for the team to build the EOS ecosystem. For them the price in future rounds should not matter much anymore.
  5. Whether it is a scam, who knows. I guess it boils down to trust. We will see.

It went back up awhile after I posted this article. Looks like they're trying to increase capacity. The site is somewhat wonky.

So far Period 0 has a price almost twice as good as Period 1, but it'll be interesting to see what happens over time, since interest could fade as you say. And it'll be interesting to see what happens when it's traded on the exchanges; should be coming soon to BitFinex.

Good point about the timeline, and I agree with the investing approach. With just about all investments I try to hold for the long-term, unless there's a real need to cash out. I like investing with total stock market index funds using the Boglehead "stay the course", "slow and steady wins the race" approach.

But at least on paper, EOS seems to me like it could be "the one" (nEOS? :P), so I'm drawn to it. I would like to stay informed of any potential competitors to EOS and Ethereum. I understand a lot of people feel overwhelmed by the plethora of ICOs these days, and I do wonder if we're approaching another dot com bubble.

Yes, they already have more money than "God" at this early stage, and will probably raise billions. As long as nothing catastrophic happens to Ethereum, they should be set for eternity.

The potential for this to be a scam, or not deliver, is something I really need to stay on top of. And any number of things could happen, since nobody can read the future. I've gotten burned with Kickstarter, so I swore to wait until products hit the market, but I'm fascinated by the ideas behind projects like EOS. I think it's a fun ride so far...but we just shouldn't get too stupid with the exuberance.

Congratulations @akhenkheires! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99