EOS Account Names checking / changing

in #eos6 years ago (edited)

eosauth.png

EOS authority has released a tool in which you can check how your 'humanly' readable account name will look when the mainnet launches. You can enter either your registered Eth address or you EOS public address (not your private key), and it will display your allocated address and your account name on the EOS blockchain. You will be able to change this once the mainnet launches (more details to be announced)

This is a nice little touch as remembering a string of random letters and numbers is well above my memory retention abilities, but it does open further questions. One of the key features of using the blockchain for transactions is the ability to 'hide' behind these non-memorable strings, EOS will give you the ability to make your address much easier to work with.

You want to send me EOS; sure my address is cryptoclarky. If this will be akin to how DNS works on the internet, that is super handy as my actual EOS address will appear on the blockchain but now I could perform a 'DNS' lookup and tie an EOS address to a more identifiable entity.

I personally love this as I have nothing to hide from anyone, if you want to know what I have sent to or received from​, knock yourself out, I am happy for the IRS to see what is going on so I can pay my taxes, as I should.

I wonder if I am alone in this, what do you all think?

https://eosauthority.com/account

Sort:  

Haha stumbled over that update on my check out of scatter, wondering why I haven't had one so far, good info!

Usernames will be essential for mass adoption, reminds me of how bitshares has had this system for a long time.

Hello aclarkuk82. Is it safe to tell people my EOS account name?

It is indeed as that is how funds can be transferred to you. You can of course still use your EOS PUBLIC key, but account names are so much easier to work with.

Good information on EOS, and your article about registering EOS held onn Exodus was very helpful for me. Thank you.

You are welcome, glad it helped

Congratulations @aclarkuk82! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Any updates on where we can modify the name?

I do not think account name modification is possible, but you can create a new account name and transfer the balance to the new account.

This site will create account for you (Scatter integration needed).

I hope that helps

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29