You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CORAL BLEACHING - WHAT HAVE WE DONE?!

in #environment7 years ago

Great post, @betrayerx! As I said in my reply to your comment earlier, Great Barrier Reef is one of the places where global warming has hit the hardest so far, and we're still only at the beginning of seeing the consequences of it. It's great that you raise awareness about this!

43 degrees Celecius

A little digression from your main point, but wow, that's incredible! Here in Norway it is -20 right now. I can't believe that it's 63 degrees hotter where you are.

Only 7% hasn't been bleached YET

This is so terrible. Most people think only a small part has been bleached, but it is in fact the other way around; only a small part is still healthy.

Sort:  

Yeah it gets pretty hot here in Australia, after all it's a desert. But we've never gotten to minus degrees where I live and i would suppose in Norway its the opposite (correct me if I'm wrong). I can't believe that most of the marine life has been affected due to the just a few changes in temperatures. The temperatures are continuing to stay at a constant few degrees higher than the usual, meaning that the marine life haven't been able to recover for the past few years. This leads to greater damage in coral.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45