German Deposit Refund System for Drinking Containers

in #environment6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to another episode of

"tibfox want to write some written stuff"!

220px-Dpgkennz.svg.png

Today I want to tell you something about the German deposit refund system for drinking bottles and cans because it is a big deal in this country. Everyone is drinking things and everyone needs to go to a Leergut-Automat.

This is one of the few things connecting all people in germany what makes me a bit happy.. hmm.. I don't know why.

Because I have no clue where YOU are coming from and if your country has got this kind of system:

some basics

A so called "deposit refund system"
... is maintained by an amount of money the buyer pays for every single item he is buying and receives that amount back when bringing the packaging ( in this case drinking packaging like bottles and cans) back to the place he purchased them.

There are many definitions
... of "drinking bottles" and "drinking cans" here in Germany but these are the main ones:

  • beer bottles: 0,08€
  • other glass bottles: 0,15€
  • one way plastic bottles: 0,25€ (harder plastics)
  • reusable plastic bottles: 0,15€ (soft cancer causing plastics)
  • cans: 0,25€
  • empty drinking bottle crates: 1,50€ (most of them)

Side note
There are also bottles and cans outside of this circle (what is a bit of a grey zone) but there are regulations about that in Germany (of course lol) and I don't want to write in detail about that here ;)

But how can I be sure this is one?
On every bottle and can you can find some illustrations or notes on the packaging, telling you if the bottle/can is part of that system or not.

inCollage_20190104_175023867.jpg

the Practice

My car is a collecting space
... for many stuff and trash but for bottles and cans as well. Because I mostly drink these things in my car while driving to or from work. So behind the backseat is a little messy space I throw empty cans and bottles and I am treasuring them up until I feel like driving in a junk yard.

(Fortunately I forgot to take a picture before cleaning this)

This morning I woke up
.. in my holidays and I felt like: Let's give them back into their lifecycle!

So I drove to my favourite supermarket (hoping I am the only one with this idea) and packed my little treasure in a shopping cart.

20190104_152200.jpg

It was pretty exciting because I didn't knew how long I need to wait because their are just 2 machines and the queue is often pretty long.

But today I was lucky and had just 2 persons in front of me in the queue to the holy "Leergut-Automat"

  • Leer = empty
  • gut = product
  • Automat = machine

So the bottles and cans in my cart called just "Leergut" in German.

20190104_152306.jpg

So I surfed a bit on steemit (of course.. because I am addicted to steem) and did my work after waiting some minutes. Because of the lucky happening, that I had such a mass/mess of cans (0,25€), I made a lot of money with that. Katchiiiing

20190104_152713.jpg

After the whole process you receive a little receipt which is accepted as an official payment method in the supermarket you are in right now. The little sheet of paper lasts some months if you forget to hand it out at the cashiers place. And believe me: this happens almost everytime for me...

20190104_152724.jpg

Some side facts

The whole system is targeting to save nature from cans/bottles.
But: Of course not everyone is taking care of the nature or just throw these cans and bottles in public trash bins. This is the reason for a common image of poor people and people with too much time, collecting this stuff. You see them everywhere in every time, walking through the city with a big bag full of empty containers.

I always place my bottles next to trash bins and not into them to make it a bit easier for the collecters. There is also a movement called "Flaschen gehören daneben" (bottles shall placed next and not into trash bins) which is pretty successful in Germany (at least in the big cities).
logo_alt.png
(picture from the official homepage)

That's why smart people invented this

pfandkiste.jpg
(picture from this blog where you can also find a tutorial how to build it by your own)

pfandregal-1-300x200.jpg
(picture from urbanshit)

If you read until here:
Congratulations you finished it! THank you for your time! I am happy you did this!

And if you are commenting your thoughts about this topic, you will be my hero for the day!

  • Do you have also such a system in your country?
  • What are you thinking about the initiative "Pfand gehört daneben"?
  • So you have other topics you want me to write about?

One additional and important thing:

While writing this article, these chilly cheese nuggets died in an awfully way:

20190104_170652.jpg

So please show some love and respect for these poor nuggers via a resteem of that article ;)


Thanks for your time

... to read this post and for sharing your thoughts and feedback in the comments. I appreciate every single interaction with me over the

  • comments,
  • resteeming,
  • upvoting and
  • mentioning people in the comments who could be interested in my post.

@tibfox.gif

Follow me on other social media platforms:

You are free to use every content of this post!

But please mention my channel in your post ;)


Sort:  

Nicely written blog bro.
Yeah,we have a system like thisvone in greece.The beer bottles cost 0.14 and the cans 0.02.
And of course we have the people who collect them for money.

This initiative about placing the bottles next to the trashcan is cool man.We don't have that stuff here and most people are donkeys that throw trash everywhere.

Happy new year mate.
By the way,you can visit Greece for your summer vacation man and ee can catch up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey mate! Thanks a lot for the kind comment and your feedback :)

I know several countries in the EU have this kind of system and I think it serves the planet pretty good.
Let's educate that donkeys! They just don't know it better :/

Good idea with holidays in Greek but I have to say: my holidays are almost planned out for @dtube.forum and some long weekends.. but I will remember this when planing holidays for next year haha ;)

Peace brother!

Have a nice weekend :)

Thats cool kind of things is there so it can be reused when it requires and some less waste fresh cans .

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah some bottles are fully reusable and the cans are recyced in a good way :)

Thanks for your comment and time to read brother!

Peace!

"Pfand gehört daneben" kenn ich so gar nicht. Gibt's in Nürnberg glaube ich nicht. Die Pfandsammler sind eigentlich die "Planet cleaner" schlechthin. In Frankreich gibt's sowas leider nicht. Dafür sind dort Unmengen an Mülleimer überall. Dementsprechend sauberer sind dort die Straßen. In Paris habe ich auch zum ersten Mal gesehen, dass ein vermutlich Obdachloser den U-Bahn Steig vom Müll befreit hat. Er hat wohl dort gewohnt.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hab mal die Website rausgesucht. Wie ich vermutet hatte, ist es von der Firma FRITZ-KULTURGÜTER GMBH initiert und betrieben. Das ist das Unternehmen, welches in Hamburg seine Fritz-Kola herstellt. Daher ist die Aktion vielleicht im Süden unbekannter.

Jau das ist deren Aktion aber ich kenn das auch aus Dresden - zumindest mit den Aufklebern. Danke für die Investigative :P

Jau die Flaschensammler haben definitiv unseren Respekt verdient... Deswegen stell ich meine Fläschchen auch immer fein daneben. Finde den "Hand in den Mülli"-Move echt eklig. So gibt man ihnen halt gar nicht erst die Nötigkeit da rein zu packen :)

Die Niederlande hat das glaub ich auch nicht. Das wäre doch Mal ein sinnvolles EU-weites Gesetz.. ^^

You got a 21.33% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tibfox!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50