My Glass Bottle Furniture: A Creative Solution to a Bottle Problem

in #environment7 years ago (edited)

glass bottle furniture.jpg

Using nothing but bottles it is possible to build stunning furniture. Put a light inside and take your loft to the next level!

I was going through my photos yesterday and came across these shots of the glass bottle furniture from my home in Sabangan, Mt. Province, Philippines. The furniture, made with my girl friend at the time Bianca Silva, was epic. Their awesomeness-- and their error-- helped inspire the development of the Milstein Modules and MD modules that are now one of the most used Ecobrick applications around the world (I shared this story in my last post).

trashure glass bottle furniture.jpg

Bianca and I had this amazing home-- essentially a loft with hardwood floors and a balcony that looked over the village and river far below. The only thing that it was missing was... furniture. Since there was no furniture stores for 6 hours down a crazy highway, we had to improvise.

full recycled.jpg

There was however, thousands of gin bottles in the village that had no where to go. Filipinos love to drink gin. The gin comes in these square bottles-- perfect to build stuff with. So, we got going with a silicone gun, and built our own furniture! Tables, chairs, a couch, an easy chair! I built lights into the furniture so that they would glow softly at night. Our furniture was awesome. Our neighbours loved it... and the idea has since spread as way to solve both the furniture problem and the bottle problem in Sabangan and beyond.

the old couch.jpg

See my last post for the story on how this inspired the Milstein Module...

https://steemit.com/social/@russmaier/the-milstein-module-build-luminous-furniture-with-bottles


All photos are mine. See more at my site, www.russs.net or folow me here on Steemit.

Sort:  

That's awesome! love that you found use for bottles that would have otherwise just gone to waste. Not a huge fan of gin, but I dig this furniture :)

What a great, creative idea!

Awesome stuff here Russ. You are a beautiful creative driving force and Steemit is the perfect place for you!

Upped 100% & resteemed immediately ;)

very very creative

wow! very innovative

Not only is this amazing (you are so creative), the concept of a gin bottle problem intrigued me. That is a lot of gin being drunk!

Wow! How innovative and creative! I'm so impressed on how your brain works. Aloha!

Congratulations @russmaier! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great idea, especially for outdoor furniture. Quirky, fun and economical. What a fantastic way to recycle bottles.

Thanks @katdvine! Stay posted.... lots more bottle ideas coming forth... :-)

I love these! Only downside I see is that they are probably quite heavy? But as long as you don't need to move your glass furniture, you're set!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79