You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Environmentalist Frustration… should I quit?

in #environment6 years ago

Heads up brother!

Your story chimes a million times in my mind. When I was a child I was fiercely passionate about conservation, to the point that myself and a friend would spend all our spare time fundraising for the world wide fund for nature & Greenpeace.

As time went by this passion was slowly drained out of me... mainly by observing the continual apathy of our human species. It's hard to keep motivated when you see what people are like and your story in this post shows this.

I can clearly remember when I was about 10 years old losing the drive to continue being active in the ways I had been. It was at the time when they first started making the connection between CFC's, the burning of fossil fuels and the greenhouse effect. I was really into science at school and I looked at what they were saying and even then recognised the truth behind a lot of it. It kind of broke me a little, as it was the first that I made the connection between the fact that both industry + government are the problem. And that money, and the acquisition of money, is all that the majority care about. The wealth of nature's diversity and beauty are the true gifts and value that are given to us free of charge, and we as a species, seem to want to take this gift and drain it to create this concept which devides us, wealth. The deep, abiding meditative peace I find out in nature to this day shows me this truth and it's something I wish more people found in thier lives. Maybe they would be less inclined to add to the problems then or even get up and do something.

Anyway, after learning to scuba dive I have got some of my passion for conservation back and have since organised and been a part of underwater litter picks here in the UK and elsewhere before I got sick.

I'm not the type of person who bothers much with politics but it does not surprise me that political reasons are behind why the local authorities aren't keeping their promises on the island. Without getting deep into it, one thing's for sure the world over, politicians will sell out pretty much any promises - environment, community, humanitarian - to gain votes.

This comment has dragged on a bit now though 😂 so I'll finish up by saying... is if you have the energy and will to keep on chipping away m8, keep on keeping on! Eventually, the impact will be felt and a change is will come. I truly believe that. It's those people who never give in, keep on at their local authorities etc that keep the conversation alive. That stop them from exploiting the resources around them even worse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71082.84
ETH 3864.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52