My Journey to Green!

in #environment5 years ago (edited)

Around the time I quit my full-time job last year, I made a decision to change my daily habits and adopt a less wasteful, more environmentally conscious way of living. This was after realizing I was living a very single-use lifestyle and experiencing extreme dissonance with that realization. It was a familiar feeling, as I had experienced the same thing over six years ago when I learned about the animal agriculture industry. Over the years I have continually evaluated my behaviors and altered them as necessary to maintain harmony with my values and beliefs, which include the idea that convenience and pleasure are no excuse for animal, as well as environmental, exploitation.

Almost a year has passed, and these are some of the changes I have made and new habits I have adopted:

Kitchen

  • I switched from paper towels/napkins to cloth napkins for meals/snacks. Also using towels/wash rags to clean up messes, wipe counters, and mop instead of paper towels, wipes, and swiffer pads.
  • I make my own cleaning solution in re-purposed glass bottles instead of buying plastic bottles heavy with chemicals.
  • If I need to buy something that is bottled, I always opt for the glass option (ketchup, peanut butter, etc.) and I reuse the glass containers.
  • I am buying bulk more often and bringing my re-purposed glass containers to purchase items like flour, sugar, dried fruits, lentils, etc.
  • I avoid buying packaged, single-serving snacks like granola bars. I also completely stopped buying microwaveable dinners and bottles of fruity protein smoothies, which I used to buy ALL THE TIME because I don't like cooking and am laaazzzyy.
    • (I also started cooking a tiny bit more)

Bathroom

  • Switched to recycled toiler paper packaged in paper instead of plastic.
  • Stopped buying tissues, make-up remover cloths, and bottled make-up remover and instead use cut-up t-shirts and homemade make-up remover (whose ingredients come in plastic bottles, but still don't generate as much waste in the long-run).
    • I also got my boyfriend to switch to sustainably sourced cotton handkerchiefs instead of tissues, which alone prevented SO MUCH paper waste because of his intense, chronic allergies (he would go through boxes of tissues like nothing).
  • Switched to toothpaste that comes in a recyclable metal tube. I also have toothpaste I have made myself, but it has been too hot to use it lately (it is coconut oil based so it is all melted).
  • Switched to refillable shampoo, body wash, and conditioner after a new zero waste store opened up downtown (yes!!).
  • Switched to bar soap.
  • Switched from recycled plastic razors (which, although better than other plastic razors, are still not that great) to a stainless steel razor by Leaf Shave that I seriously LOVE using (it has three blades and pivots - I tried a safety razor but kept cutting myself and could not get the hang of it).
  • Switched to a bamboo toothbrush.
  • Started using reusable panty liners more and ditched tampons; most recently bought some period underwear that should eliminate the need for either.
    • Also tried (and failed) to use the Ziggy menstrual disc twice (will post about that ordeal another time).

Misc.

  • Switched the cats from clay litter to ökocat brand litter made from reclaimed wood, which has been great because there is no smell and a box lasts so much longer.
  • I started composting the rabbits litter at my mom's, which has been a fun experiment. I don't compost it every time, but I am moving towards a goal of composting 100% of it.
  • I have a large, glass to-go cup I bring to Starbucks and other places for drinks. Not all places allow it, but I try.
  • I pack empty containers and clean utensils for outings to avoid single-use plastic containers and utensils. Same with cloth napkins.
  • I started taking the bus to school (and other places) instead of driving whenever possible (in the winter I tried to tough it out, but there were times I took my car instead because I felt too cold).
    • I recently quit one of my jobs that required me to drive over 100 miles a week (for three days of work) in my very fuel-inefficient car and now I walk to my newer job (I went from buying a full tank every week to only buying half a tank in maybe the past six weeks).
  • Opted for a 100% biodegradable phone case and a liquid screen protector from Pela when I had to get a new phone.
  • Switched to buying almost exclusively e-books and used books.
  • I heavily research companies if I am buying new underwear or socks (stuff I don't want to buy used for obvious reasons) to make sure I am supporting the most ethical and environmentally conscious businesses.
  • I started washing clothes made from synthetic textiles in a Guppybag to reduce the amount of microplastics ending up in the bay.
  • Oh and I stopped drinking Coke products, because fuck that company. I didn't really buy their stuff to begin with, but my roommate ALWAYS has Cokes in the fridge that I used to drink occasionally, and one of his friends used to bring over those fruity San Pellegrino fizzy drinks for me. I don't drink any of it now, and I have vowed to donate the money I get from recycling my roommates Coke cans to organizations like charity:water.

I am sure there are a few more changes I have made, but these are all the ones that have come to mind. I am always trying to do better and each day presents new opportunities for me to make a more environmentally-friendly decisions. I like to remind myself that I am constantly learning and I try not to beat myself up when I "mess up" or miss an opportunity to make the better choice. This post is also a way for me to acknowledge what I have already done, because I tend to minimize my own accomplishments.

All of the switches I have made were after I used up what I already had, by the way!

Oh! I also want to acknowledge how incredibly patient my boyfriend has been as I have tried new things (some of which have not been so great - like the time I asked him to buy me hand soap that ended up being $15 because it was actually fancy body wash...and then I spilled a bunch of it). I make a point to let him know how much I appreciate his patience and willingness to experiment with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78