Fountain Pens | Zero Waste Wednesday

in #environment6 years ago

We now live in an age heavily reliant on technology; we use numerous productivity apps, note-taking apps, write notes on our laptops every day. However the old fashioned way of getting things done: pen and paper is still widely popular. And actually my preferred method 😉

But when trying to practice zero waste philosophies, pens...and sheets of paper...don't seem to be the most environmentally friendly. Paper can be recycled if you actually make sure if gets to the recycling bin, but pens...rendered useless and thrown out as soon as they run out of ink.

Guess what! You can change that!

Fountain Pens.png

Fountain pens: welcome to sustainable pens. Many are metal/bamboo combinations, and you can purchase the ink in a glass bottle! If you clean your fountain pen correctly it can last you about a decade, think of all the pens you're keeping out of the landfill.

I purchased this Zenzoi model: antique bamboo fountain pen set and 60 mL of ink for about $40. Considering the comfort it gives me knowing I'm not throwing countless pens in the trash and the fact that it's going to last a long time, I really don't find this to be too much. There are tons of options though so don't be afraid to look around!

I've been using the Zenzoi for about 2 weeks now. It was a little tricky to get used to but now I absolutely love it. It writes really well, very smooth. I fill it up about every 2 days just to make sure it doesn't run out (and that's with writing off and on all day and taking notes during lectures). In the future I think I may purchase another model with a flexible nib so I can use it for calligraphy!

I hope this inspires you to incorporate fountain pens into your life if you use pen and paper daily like I do! 😊

PS: I am not compensated for advertising this certain product. I simply purchased this specific product after research I did on several models. Thank you!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Hi Jenna! This is a very relevant issue. And fountain pens sound like a great idea to replace all the plastic pens. But I have a questions: is this a special kind of fountain pen? How do you keep it full without using plastic capsules of ink?
Thank you!

Hi Maria! I should have shown more detailed images; unfortunately there is a piece of plastic in the pen. However this piece is simply the holding tank for the ink. The pen does not come with a disposable ink capsule, but rather a mechanism that allows you to draw ink up into the tank. I bought my ink in a glass bottle to avoid buying the disposable ink capsule.

If you want maybe I will post a tutorial of how to use it! Just let me know 😊

Ink Capsule.jpg

Ink Bottle & Pen.jpg

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 14.08% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81