Why I quit everything to work for free - Constructive Rebellion

in #environment4 years ago (edited)

hope.jfif

I decided to devote at least 12 months of my life (and money) to an intense work for our planet. I have already quit my job and I'm getting rid of all substantial belongings.

I am going to volunteer in two major environmental projects. First, I want to go to India to work with #IshaFoundation on Cauvery River revitalisation (aka #CauveryCalling aka #RallyForRivers) and following that, the plan is to head to Australia and help with the bushfire recovery efforts (btw. Please let me know if you know any reputable charities there?).

The decision had been incubating inside me for some time. The more I saw the destruction caused by our so called "civilization", the more I felt responsible for this planet's future and wanted to act. I didn't want to limit myself to occasional donations to some remote charities. This is important as well, but someone has to get the hands dirty and do all the hard work. I feel that nothing else really matters right now and I will do as much as I can. No excuses.

My hope is that this commitment will inspire at least one more person here on Steemit to join, what I call, a #ConstructiveRebellion and be part of a solution not the problem. Stop complaining, protesting, fighting and just do something constructive. Plant a tree, pick up a litter or move you money out of a fossil fuel financing bank to more eco oriented one (See #DefundFossilFuels - link). Do whatever. There is no "Planet B". I'm going all in and I will prove that anything is possible.

Keep your fingers crossed for me, please. There is still a lot we can do to reverse the damage done. There is still hope but we have to work together and we have to act now. Join me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57806.13
ETH 2453.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36