You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Recycling: The Evil Illusion

in #environment7 years ago

Great article, I've often thought that what you discovered was the truth (I'm an environmental scientist) and I have had the idea to research how recycling really works in Australia for some time now.

I suspect that the issue you have described here is exactly the same in Australia and you've motivated me to go out and take a look. This problem needs to be dealt with urgently. We really don't have time to ignore what is really going on.

Sort:  

Thank you Mazzle. Alas I suspect it a dynamic common all around the world. I heared about a big recycling scandal recently in your country recently when it was discovered that vast amounts of glass bottles that are perfectly recyclable were ending up in the landfill. http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-08-07/recycling-companies-forced-to-stockpile-glass-industry-crisis/8778088 I heartedly encourage you to research the recycling industry in your country. Take a job in one of the facilities and ask lots of questions! I managed to persuade my foreman to shift me to all the stations in the factory so I could better understand the systems for each material. Its hard work, but fascinating.

Yep, that article is actually the one that gave me the idea to start digging in the first place actually. I'll be sure to look further.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85