๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠMake a Wave! Be the Change! ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ

in #environment โ€ข 6 years ago

๐ŸŒŠ Isn't the ocean beautiful?


beach eco talk.jpg


๐ŸŒŠ Don't you just love listening to the relaxing sound of waves washing up against the shore?

๐ŸŒŠ Aren't the shades of blue mesmerizing to watch?

Today, I went to the beach (as I do most days) and as I was sitting firmly with my beach bum plopped in the grainy sand, I saw some men bending over every few seconds and picking things up and putting them into large bags.

Curiously, I squinted my eyes to try to make out what it was that they were collecting when it dawned on me -- they were picking up garbage -- mostly plastic garbage and as I looked around at the sand I sit in daily, I shuddered.

**The beach was littered with garbage!!!!
**
Inspired and called to immediate action, I got up and began picking up everything I saw and eventually brought it over to the open bag one of the men had sitting in the sand. As we picked up together, more people joined in and it turned into this beautiful collaboration of bringing balance back to the natural world around us.

THE PROBLEM!

When I was promoting bamboo straws last summer people were trying to say plastic straws were not a problem... -_-

The things I saw most today?

  1. Plastic straws!
  2. Plastic bottle caps!
  3. Plastic bags!
  4. Cigarette filters!
    So, my friends... therefore, they are a BIG problem. PLASTIC IS A BIG PROBLEM!

SOLUTION?

Yes, playing trash hero today felt amazing and coming together with those strangers on the beach for a common cause was beautiful BUT let's start where it begins!

If we want beautiful beaches and healthy oceans, we've gotta work on our consumption efforts and absolutely need recycling overhaul!

โ™ป๏ธ Say no to plastic bags

โ™ป๏ธ Get a refillable water bottle and avoid one use plastic

โ™ป๏ธ Recycle any plastics you may use responsibly -- know your municipality's recycling program and what to do with what products

โ™ป๏ธ Collect your rubbish and safely dispose of it/don't leave it for nature to take on :'(

โ™ป๏ธ Respect and care for the Earth ๐Ÿ™

The amount of plastic washing up on shores worldwide every day is a travesty! Let's rise up and show the ocean we can do better! โ™ป๏ธ๐ŸŒŠ๐Ÿ’š
๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ™โ™ฅ๏ธ
Love, Cece ๐Ÿ’“
heart thing.png
hearttoheart signature.png

[trial5.jpg
signature_1.gif

Sort: ย 

Well OK then. I don't have an ocean, but I do have a large beach and people use it like their private dump.

That goofy Sam makes me carry a bag every couple of days to pick up other peoples trash. He's adamant about it, would do it himself if he had thumbs.

Do you know you don't need a straw? Your mouth was built fully formed and you can swallow without a straw?

There are a certain (thankfully small) percentage of people that actually leave their household garbage in bags out in the desert. How can that ever be OK?

Ah yeah. It irritates the crap out of me, too. It's the personally responsible thing again. Thanks for the message. If just 1 person reads this and throws just today's plastic away....

Wow, that Sam being such a good old sport getting you to do his good deeds for the world! :)
I absolutely agree with you re: straws! I mean, what do we need to suck our drinks through some plastic for anyway? CRAZINESS to me!
You know, there's a new super trending challenge to get people to pick up trash! I hope it continues to spread as fast as it is! Maybe you can jump on board with some photos of one of your walks and become famous for being the awesome human you are! <3

Congratulations @heart-to-heart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 35000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83