You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GOOD THINGS COME IN SMALL PACKAGES? – SOMETIMES I PREFER NO PACKAGES!

That's an advantage of growing your own, for sure! That's one reason I like growing crops that don't even need any processing, or that I can store in canning jars. I can leave Jerusalem artichokes, carrots, rutabagas, green onions, and greens in the ground for the winter. I can just keep storage onions in reusable net bags, potatoes in cardboard boxes, and winter squash on shelves. And I can put dry beans in jars. All of those don't even take any energy or equipment for processing for use in the winter. Then, with dehydrating and canning, I can keep food in reusable glass jars - jars that will outlast me. I do reuse plastic bags when I freeze my harvest, though. I do put some things in the freezer in canning jars, but not too much. And like you show with little Monster Truck Pepper there, fresh is best! Happy gardening in 2017!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51