Why such a difference in consumption between two countries?🌎💡🚰

in #environment6 years ago

If you have read my introductory post, or even some of my articles you know that I am French and that I immigrated to Quebec. I will want to talk, understand freely about a difference that I have found. No, I'm not accusing Quebecers of this or that, but rather trying to understand ...

I have noticed for a long time that some Quebecers were not concerned about the environment, but really not at all! I was shocked to see that the porches remained lit, that the cars were washed regularly ... But what really shocked me most was when a colleague left the water open during the brushing of the teeth. small, ie continuous for 15min! There I began to look around and saw this difference.


Source

The water

In France, at least of what I could live, water is a precious commodity, especially if you live in the South (not my case). But my parents always said: "cut the water is expensive," in short I was quibble a couple of times! According to the statistics, the domestic water consumption is 143 L per inhabitant per day "I think it's huge! In Canada 329 L and in Quebec 400L, a big difference ...

In Canada the water is unlimited! The country has 20% of the world's fresh water! In short, it's huge! And in Quebec to have access to water just pay a tax of about $ 200 a year (correct me Quebecers if I'm wrong).
Just this fare story changes a lot! People are more focused on their portfolio than on environmental issues. A small water leak is nothing for a Quebecer, for a French is a bigger bill at the end of the month! Here is an article I just found, it dates but I think it is still relevant:
https://www.journaldemontreal.com/2014/07/10/le-quebec-champion-du-gaspillage-deau

The fact that this resource is permanently visible in Canada (lakes, rivers, ...) does not allow residents to realize that it is a precious resource!


Source

Electricity

Electricity ... it has become paramount in our society. And each country chooses how to produce or buy electricity. France and Canada are quite "close" in terms of production. France and Canada produce respectively 536 and 643 billion kWh. The sources of energy are for the 2 varied. Canada uses mainly hydroelectric power (+ 50% of its production) but continues to use coal for nearly 20% and nuclear power in the same proportions. In 2008 Canada and in particular Alberta produced a lot of greenhouse gases, Quebec produces very little.
As for France more than 75% of its energy is produced by nuclear power. The share of renewable electricity is increasing every year but remains very low.
We could say that Canada uses cleaner energy than nuclear ... but the consumption is very different! The French consume an average of 6,940 kWh per year and Canadians 1,546 kWh, double. I still remember my mother who tells me "we are not at Versailles here"!

Why this difference in consumption?
Once again .... the price! In France 8.97 and in Canada 7.23 cents US $ per kWh. Which makes a nice difference on the price at the end of the month or the year.


Source

I think when you touch people's wallet it changes some practices! But that's not what we have to do ... if we think about people who are having trouble paying their rent at the end of the month, why add another difficulty?
I think everything is played with children, showing them what waste is. How by small daily actions have little decrease our consumption! And that's a big challenge!

There are some days of differences between my post in French and my post in English. I had some very interesting answers ...
First of all, history! France and Canada have not lived the same story and that's normal. In France we have known, or rather my grandparents, the war, the restrictions. What teach us to pay attention to our resources. While in Canada there has never been all that.
Then winter, oh yes, the Canadian winter! I agree that the winter is harder, it would be interesting to compare consumption by period. But that does not justify air conditioning by 24 degrees Celsius outside! Nor even the consumption of water.

And you what do you think?

Sources :
https://www.mcgill.ca/waterislife/fr/l%E2%80%99eau-%C3%A0-la-maison/notre-consommation
http://perspective.usherbrooke.ca/bilan/servlet/BMTendanceStatPays?codeTheme=6&codeStat=EG.USE.ELEC.KH.PC&codePays=CAN&optionsPeriodes=Aucune&codeTheme2=6&codeStat2=EG.USE.ELEC.KH.PC&codePays2=FRA&optionsDetPeriodes=avecNomP&langue=fr
https://www.indexmundi.com/map/?v=79&l=fr
https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%89lectricit%C3%A9_en_France
https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%89lectricit%C3%A9_au_Canada#Changements_climatiques
https://fr.statista.com/statistiques/565026/prix-de-lelectricite-dans-une-selection-de-pays/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80