You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DailyMastermind 46 | HUGE BUSINESSES IN SELLING USERS' PERSONAL DATA: CAN BLOCKCHAIN SOLVE THIS?

I'm sorry, but I cannot watch your video. Dtube is so slow, that it took 10 minutes for 10 seconds of video to load. At that rate, it would take over 10 hours for the full video to load and be watchable.

In your writing beneath the video in this post however, you ask:

If blockchain can prevent the extraction of personal data, that would be a huge bonus for consumers. Is it possible?

I do not know how the blockchain can possibly prevent the extraction of personal data. If nothing else, blockchain technology is making our personal data more public than ever before. That will certainly keep it from being "sold," per se, if everyone can access it, but it will still be out there for all to see.

This very comment I am making will be on the blockchain a thousand years from now. Anyone can see all the comments I made today, and all the upvotes you made today. If I transfer SBD to you, the entire world can see that transaction if they know where to look. Everything is going public in a way that information has never been made public before.

Perhaps you covered all this in your video, I don't know. Sorry I could not watch, but perhaps Dtube will one day improve their technology so that content will load and stream faster, like Vimeo, Vevo, YouTube, and all the other streaming sites do.

#steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Hey @thekittygirl, thank you for sharing your perspective of the blockchain technology! You're right, I do understand that aspect of the blockchain. However I read articles that mentioned multiple times that the blockchain technology like Bitcoin as a cryptocurrency can help to maintain privacy.. Hence I was wondering if this is really possible and if so, how?

*P.S: I'm really sorry for what you had to go through while waiting for the video to buffer. I'm actually giving away 5 SBD for FREE, and you stand a chance to win it by sharing your experience of slow buffering in the comments section here. This giveaway is created to gather as much feedback as possible about @dtube so that the developing team have a better idea to build their platform.

Thank you for that suggestion! If the developers will see the comment, it is worth it, despite the 5 SBD prize! B_smile.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60930.55
ETH 2367.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48