Medieval Meals - Entrepreneurship & My startup story

in #entrepreneurship7 years ago

Entrepreneurship is a french word which means to undertake. There is a cooked-up belief nowadays that a person has to quit school & college to gain time to start his /her own venture. This may be true for few like Steve Jobs who had quit school but if you look at a bigger picture most of the entrepreneurs are highly educated. Entrepreneurs typically do not get outstanding ranks in class they are mostly who are average or outstanding (Standing out of class :P ).
I am gonna share with you my story and my journey from a student to a full time entrepreneur.
I had a above average school life. I was born in Jamshedpur, Tata Motors colony. telco house.jpg

 Yes you got that right my birthplace happens to be the mother-plant or mother-ship of the elite TATA Group. My father was among the first people who worked in TATA motors. That time TATA Motors was known as TELCO - Tata Engineering & Locomotive company. My father worked with CNC & Lathe machines and he used to often talk about machines which made me obsessed with machines since i was a child [ My dad was more than happy with my orientation of being a mechanic ]

tm old.jpg
ABOVE - Rare pic of TATA Motors trucks (Earlier they were in partnership with Mercedes)
In school i was a shy boy, I used to try my best to get the second last seat as the last seat had too much visual heat by the teachers there. Most of my time in school was spent out of class because i used to not do home-work and i used to open up different books right in front of my teachers. God how pissed they were :P. Most of my time was spent in playing basketball or track sport. Tata Motors stadium is free for everyone who wants to train themselves. t stad.jpg
Tata Motors Colony is one of the greenest cities in India, m more than happy with my hometown :P. My school called "Hill Top" was good for passing and getting decent enough marks. I dint like it very much, my teachers at that time were more focused on grades and i was more focused on learning. Most of the time I used to get bad grades because i dint like what they wanted me to study. I felt that the syllabus is kinda outdated or bullshit. Well they are not to blame, Indian society and the entire country (majority) focuses on marks rather than knowledge.
hts 1.jpg
ABOVE - My School
bbc.jpg
Basketball Court - Most of my time was spent here. I loved it :)
After completing school and getting decent enough grades i cracked an Engineering College named BIT Sindri (https://www.bitsindri.ac.in/ ) I became a student under "Department of science & tech, Gov of Jharkhand ) I took Electrical and Electronics engineering. During my time ragging was there so i did face some of it but my seniors could not do much to me like my batch mates because i used to roll class A joins and they wanted to get a piece of it. Engineering got over killing a lot of my time in things that I had not so much interest in. I was interested in Innovation & entrepreneurship while my whole college was obsessed with getting in a government job. I personally dint like the idea of Gov job that much but because of big big pressure from my father i gave 2 years to preparing those shit. In my third year in Engineering I studied a paper called "Entrepreneurship 1. This was the first time when i found what entrepreneurship was. I was not that shook up but the seed was planted then.

bits.jpg
After graduating from BIT Sindri I moved to India's Capital "Delhi". My dad wanted me to prepare myself for IAS, IES etc. I dint study much there as I was not interested in studing the syllabus over and over again which was basically outdated. If i had to guess the syllabus looked to me like 50 years old, in the world of tech studying this was a bullshit to me.
del.jpg
My life in delhi was awesome. I rarely went to class, I spent most of my time with friends on the streets smokong good hash and looking up the city, the food, people and businesses. This was the first time I was in a big city and had a good time exploring it. Later i took a job in 2 companies fixkar.com & highgroundenterprises . I did not lke my job at Highground Enterprise as they were ethically very wrong in auditing petrol pumps. fixkar.com was good this was a small company of 10 people and i became the owner's ally just because i was a engineer and i smoked pot with him. Anyways this boss of mine taught me a great deal. I observed and learned a lot from him as he was a entrepreneur and i wanted to be one someday. I worked for 3 months launched his brand, which was a re-seller package (typical easy internet business).
After having quit my job and decided that i wont work as a employer. I came back to Jamshedpur as it also holds rank in being the largest SMSE belt in Asia. I tried to startup a "Hemp" company then "Internet" company then blog then affliate marketting etc etc. I killed a lot of my time in these, dint make money directly but learned a lot. I wanted to join a B school so that i could understand WTH was i doing wrong. I made a strategy and i listed all my skills in upwork.com to freelance. Currently I am a top rated freelancer there - https://www.upwork.com/o/profiles/users/_~011596c7e4e6423f57/ . I tried to learn from my client, make some money and join B school to learn. I used my freelancing earnings in Bschool.
Finally i had made it in one of the best B-schools of India & world 'XLRI Jamshedpur" I got screened by giving my business ideas. Most of my Internet business ideas had failed because Indian gov had serious restrictions on Paypal and paypal was my processor so everything got Fucked UP. Still Indian Gov does nothing much to synchronize with paypal. Many Indians have fucked up businesses because of that. I took Startup Management in XLRI as my major. (PGPCEM)
![xaviers-labour-relation-institue-xlri-jamshedpur.jpg]
()
XLRI was not up to my expectations. Their syllabus was also lagging, I know this as i was also taking few EDX courses which was more informative and up to date as compared to it. Anyways XLRI brand name is good for connections & rep here so I am ok with my time spent there. I found my partner there and we registered a company called "Medieval Meals" I am currently working as a "Business Development Director " & "Lead Sales & Marketing" Our vision is to provide with healthy East Indian Traditional food. Our products can be seen here - wwww.medievalmeals.com . https://www.facebook.com/medievalmeals/?ref=bookmarks
mm.jpg
My partner is the lead chef here. He loves to cook and i provide him with network and connections on medieval themed food. mmp.jpg
My partner, Professor Prabal Sen (XLRI), Me
Currently my this venture is 6 months old and we want to set up franchises all over the country. This is our prototype where we are developing our products and business as a whole.

I will share u more information. Startup Life, Entrepreneur Life, Hacks etc - keep following me :)

Sort:  

Very good story, Want to hear more from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61426.96
ETH 3441.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51