Servant

in #entrepreneurship7 years ago

“I want to have my own business so I can be my own boss.”
I hear this quote roughly once a month, from someone eager to jump into entrepreneurship.

When I dropped out of Iowa State in 2009, to dive headfirst into a career of online poker, I was often muttering similar sentences.

“I will be able to make my own schedule.”

“I don’t want to work for anyone but myself.”

It ended up being nothing like that. I was committed to the online poker sites’ tournament schedules. I had to play the games which resulted in the best ROI—no matter what time of day they started. My Sundays were often 18+ hours of sitting in front of 2 monitors, clicking buttons while listening to hours and hours of CCR. I had to work with the schedules of my coaches, investors, and students.

I was now a servant to a system, in which everyone on the platform was trying to take my money.

If you jump into entrepreneurship, you become a servant to your venture, its team, and their time.

And hopefully it won’t be all about the money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63