Even the Creator of Nike, Phil Knight, a/k/a The Shoe Dog, Experienced Uncertainty, Fear and Doubt

in #entrepreneurship8 years ago (edited)

Phil Knight Is Just Rolling with It in Shoe Dog.

I've been a sneakerhead for a long time. I wore the original versions of the re-released sneakers I see kids wearing these days in Brooklyn. I've simplified my connection since then, since I have a growing appreciation for minimalism. Even so, I still admire the wide variety of sneakers I see on the streets around me.I felt excited to discover the book Shoe Dog, by Phil Knight, through Brad Feld's post. Phil's the creator of Nike.I'm experiencing Phil's memoir to be fascinating and inspiring!It's the kind of book I can't read before bed. The inspiration and excitement I experience reading the book tend to keep me up at night.The quotes in this post are connecting with me, in the context of my Just Rolling with It journey. I share them in the hope you may connect with them too.

The Shoe Dog on Self-Worth

“If I tended to dwell on all the things I wasn’t, the reason was simple. Those were the things I knew best.”My natural tendency is to focus on what I’m not. I’ve been learning to appreciate what I am, on the Just Rolling with It journey.

The Shoe Dog on Being True to Yourself in Your Work

“I wanted what everyone wants. To be me, full-time.”The destination of my Just Rolling with It journey continues to evolve. This quote feels like it's pointing the way toward that destination.

The Shoe Dog on Uncertainty and Hope

“I was following a path that felt like my path, and though I wasn’t sure where it would lead, I was ready to find out. So I was beaming with hope.”Uncertainty is a constant companion on my Just Rolling with It journey. I receive glimpses along the way that Just Rolling with It works. Those glimpses give me the hope I need to keep going.

The Shoe Dog on Fear and Doubt

“More than once, over my first cup of coffee in the morning, or while trying to fall asleep at night, I’d tell myself: Maybe I’m a fool? Maybe this whole damn shoe thing is a fool’s errand? Maybe, I thought. Maybe.”Fear and doubt are two other traveling companions on the Just Rolling with It journey. I’m learning to use fear as a strength and not view it as a weakness. Hope helps overcome the doubt.Entrepreneurship can feel like a lonely road at times. It's comforting to remember we're not alone in our journeys as entrepreneurs. I feel grateful to receive these reminders in Shoe Dog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41