First Comic Con As A Vendor For Minty Memes Was A Success, Especially Because I Learned A Ton! :)

in #entrepreneurship7 years ago

I just got home from my first Comic Con, Granite State Comic Con and I'm pretty happy with the result. While I didn't sell exactly as much as I might have at a larger Comic Con (unfortunately, Boston Comic Con, due to Massachusetts Law, requires a lot of hoops to be allowed to sell food/candy), I still did pretty well and I learned a ton! I sold probably 100 Minty Memes Mints (mintymemes.com), about 70 being the pocket-sized tins and 30 being the peppermint jars. The most important thing that I gained though was insight into the customer experience and the way that potential customers reacted to it.

20170916_084005.jpg

A lot of people were enthusiastic and I found that I appealed most to people between the ages of 12 and 30 (of course, this is just one comic con, and I may find a different trend later). Additionally, as I expected, some older parents in the 40-50 range who wanted to get their kids a 'cool' present, thought it was a great gift for them (this may be good for the Christmas season) and I pointed them to the right meme depending on the age group (although all are family friendly, some have implications that are less than family friendly and would appeal more to older age groups). It was great interacting with people, talking about the product, selling other stuff, and seeing all the great costumes and products from other vendors as well!

20170916_084020.jpg

I also learned a lot by talking to other vendors. They explained that turn-outs and the amount of people looking to buy items vary heavily from comic con to comic con and they gave me some great information regarding other ones around the New England Area. They told me about their past experiences, how they started, and were eager to learn about my product, a camaraderie that was really enjoyable for me. There are different ways that they prepared that I didn't think of (although all of my important bases were covered) such as changeable signs for product prices, which allows you to vary prices throughout the day if it seems that you misread what a good pricing point is. My fidget spinners and pokemon figurines were my best sellers, making me the majority of the money that I made. People loved the Marvel/DC Fidget Spinners, especially kids, and offering them at $5.00 or 2/$8.00 worked out great for me.

20170916_085123.jpg

20170916_085136.jpg

The Minty Memes brand is about bringing memes off of just the internet and letting them join us in our daily lives. When I created the brand, I thought to myself "Clearly the person who said puns are the lowest form of humor never heard of memes and if I may so myself, Shawty, it's time to get low, get low, get low, get low.". I want to make my memes mintier and mintier and will likely be having fan submission contests to create a meme that will be part of the main collection. Additionally, I'll be offering customized mints in the near future; you send the meme, I supply the candy. I'll send it to your door so you can show your friends or family and be the belle of the friggen ball. Some of the memes can be seen below here in the pictures:

20170916_091122.jpg

20170916_091215.jpg

20170916_091148.jpg

20170916_091142.jpg

Additionally, there are more at mintymemes.com, which you can take a look at if you would like. All in all, the Comic Con was an amazing experience, and the fact that I'm beginning to get a lot closer to full-time self-employment makes me proud of myself. I'm going to continue to improve this physical product and I recommend anyone considering vending at a Comic Con to try it out! I had a great time and it taught me a lot. As far as exercises in self-improvement and market research, I can't think of many greater than this. I hope you have a great day and I hope you got some enjoyment out of this post.

Keep on steeming, dreaming, and memeing!!


AS ALWAYS, WISHES OF WEALTH AND HEALTH FOR ALL! :)

Sort:  

nice! you look very cute there :)

Thanks! :)

Thank you for sharing @biddle! Great story of your experience! You are very brave to dare to start your own business, doing all the design and branding by yourself . A real entrepreneur! I don't I have the imagination and courage to do something completely new like you did!
I live to tryout your mints! And your key rings are very nice, would like to get some if your are in my area! Any way, good work and the prospect is very promising for you!

All the best and lots of good luck!
Cheers.

You're very welcome! Thank you so much for the kind words! I try to work as hard as I can to make my dreams come true and learn and grow in technology and business! :) and absolutely! Best of luck to you too and best wishes! :)

Congrats on the good experience and doing well at the con!! Keep learning and you will be making a killing before long!

Thanks! :) I hope to! I appreciate the words of encouragement and positivity! :)

good job!

Thanks! :)

Whats up Biddie. Came through to show some love. Looks like you have some cool stuff there. I'm going to check out your website and try to keep up with ya.

Thanks! :) Appreciated! I'll check out your Steemit stuff too! :)

Do you have a website where you sell your other products?

Not right now, but I'll be setting that up soon! I'll keep everyone updated!

Other than btcshirt.com (where I've been creating some crypto themed shirts), but not the fidget spinners, pokemon stuff, etc. :) Feel free to check that out though! :)

Will check it out. Next time i come to your page, i hope to see you ahowcase all of the cool stuff you have. Thia is a social media site that pays. Everything has value. **I just dropped jewels :) **

Thanks for sharing your experience. Sounds like the networking you did with other vendors was probably worth more to you than the actual sales. Good luck going forward, and please continue to share your experiences.

Exactly! That was a huge win! :)

nice

Thanks!

upvoted

Thanks!

waiting for more from you biddle! keep motivating!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99