7 Early Stage Funding Options For Startups

in #entrepreneur6 years ago (edited)


In this video I discuss the main early stage funding options for startups with some insights as to the pros and cons of these.

By ‘early stage’ I mean the $0 to $500k range, which should be enough to get you to a stage of proving your Problem-Solution-Fit

If you like this video, please upvote and follow. If you didn’t or you think there are areas for improvement, or there other topics you would like to see covered, then please leave a comment below

Take care,

Alan

Alan Brannigan
Husband, Father, CEO, Entrepreneur, Tech-Geek, Crypto Enthusiast, Believer in Freedom and Liberty

Email: [email protected]
Steemit - @nalabra


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Have a business idea but lack the funds to get it started? These are some good ideas on where to "look" for funding.

I am looking for $200,000 to invest in Steem, it is so cheap today !

Thanks for elaborating on the 7 steps.
This will help me to grow big

Thanks for elaborating on the 7 steps. Not exactly my first startup, but I'm in the process of my first crypto-startup and found your angle very helpful. #ProblemSolutionFit 👍

Thanks @donald.porter. I've followed you and look forward to hearing updates on your new venture. Best of luck!

Hey man great post!
I personally have never succesfully gotten funding from pitching events. Most of mine investors have been trough my network who have seen that im just the type of guy who works my ass off to make dreams come true. I find events where you pitch to investors a little bit to over crowded with desperate entrepreneurs, and not serious investors Would totally reccomend entrepreneurs to build a network in the investment communicty and work super hard, then people will notice and investors will contact you, not you them.

Hey @maxgouchan, I couldn't agree with you more. I did the angel investment pitch circuit years ago and found it soul destroying! Luckily I've moved on from that. I guess it's an option for those with limited options or networks though. Thanks for sharing.

I've just discovered your content. Really valuable, in my opinion, so it was an easy decision to follow you.

About strategic investment, doesn't it come with a lot of strings attached as well? And this usually ends up with selling the business to the strategic investor for a sizable profit, if it booms.

If the owner likes creating start ups and selling them, that's a great way to do it, but if he or she wants to remain the owner, probably not the best method to stay in control.

Hi @gadrian, you raise a good point here. It's true that a strategic investor is looking for more than just a standard return on investment like a VC Firm would. However, that doesn't always mean they want to buy the company. They may just want to secure preferential terms as a channel partner for example.

Everything is negotiable at the beginning so my advice is just be clear on what your objective is long term and don't be afraid to say no if the proposed investment does no align with your objectives.

Cheers, Alan

You are right, I haven't thought of that. They might just be looking to have preferential treatment in further business deals.

Great video ...

Hey man great post!
I personally have never succesfully gotten funding from pitching events. Most of mine investors have been trough my network who have seen that im just the type of guy who works my ass off to make dreams come true. I find events where you pitch to investors a little bit to over crowded with desperate entrepreneurs, and not serious investors Would totally reccomend entrepreneurs to build a network in the investment communicty and work super hard, then people will notice and investors will contact you, not you them.

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 2 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25