Why it is important to be multi-faceted as an entrepreneur. (and why it is crucial to never give up)

in #entrepreneur8 years ago (edited)

I have been making my living as an entrepreneur/freelance artist for quite a few years now.

Not long ago when I first started my bumpy road to freelance/independent financial stability I had people telling me to throw in the towel. Right away really. I would try one thing and it would end up not working and everyone would jump at the chance to say how I should just get a "real" job. Just a few years later and some of these same people are writing me asking me how they can make money without their "real" job. However, even when I try to help them they pretty quickly give in if the money doesn't get throw in their face with almost no effort. I try to explain to them that it took me literally years of work and trying and failing to get where I am today.

You are going to fail. Expect it. But don't give up when it happens.

If you are starting out as an entrepreneur you will likely fail at quite a few of the things you set out to accomplish. This is fine and this is normal. This why you need to try many avenues and branch out. Think outside the box. Get creative. Try. Try again. Try many things at a time. Admit when one thing isn't working (this was hard for me sometimes) and then use that time/energy to invest into something else.

How I currently make my living:

  • Publishing books
  • Creative coloring books
  • Selling paintings
  • Custom digital and traditional art
  • User testing
  • Writing online
  • Various odd jobs online

And even so I am still constantly trying out new things. It is important to stay sharp, and adapt to change as an entrepreneur. At any given time one of my incomes may stop making me as much money. The coloring book trend could die and I would need to find something else to replace that income. Which is why I am constantly trying out new things and learning new skills. Right now I am taking online courses on programming. I will also soon be buying a DSLR and will try to sell photos to stock photo sites and see if that makes any money.

So, there you have my opinion on why it is crucial to be multi-faceted as an entrepreneur. I highly, highly doubt there is any successful businessman who started with absolutely nothing and decided to get out there and be independently financial who tried out only ONE idea and found immediate success. Most people fail many times before they find success. People don't see that part. People come to me asking me how they can make $$$ and then ultimately are not willing to put in any of the tough work to get to where I am. Well, it takes a lot of failing and it takes a lot of getting back up and trying new things.

So, get out there and make yourself. Try out some new things. Learn some new skills. And if it fails, don't sweat it because there's something else around the corner. :)

"I'm convinced that about half of what separates successful entrepreneurs from the non-successful ones is pure perseverance." -Steve Jobs

Photos

Entrepreneur/arrow:
https://pixabay.com/p-1562820/?no_redirect

Courage:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/pictoquotes/16071188544

Typing on laptop:
https://pixabay.com/p-1185637/?no_redirect

Sort:  

Very true, and you're actually a quite good example that hard work does pay off :)

This is so true. With life's harsh realities you have to have the push to make it.I mean every rainy day has sunshine behind the clouds....

Yepp. It takes so much resilience to make it as an entrepreneur.

This really hits home for me, thank you for this post I needed this, upvoted and followed

Thank you. <3 Sometimes I need a reminder myself that all the hard work will pay off/is paying off.

good post! never give up! you just got a new follower!

Hey, thanks. ^_^

upvoted too! 8D

Multiple streams of income - must have. And so cool to see a list of what you do! Interested to hear about your stock photo experiment. Thanks, @lauralemons

I wouldn't really suggest stock photography, it's a really hard thing to make money in. People do it obviously, but unless you have really good sources on how to do it properly for money, its really easy to do it and get pennies.

Hm okay. Well, I may just see for myself. I will be taking tons of photos regardless. But, as I said, if it isn't working I will move on. ^_^

I always tell people that want to work for themselves that they should either have 2 years expenses saved up, or expect to be poor for the next two years

When I was starting off on my own as a freelancer, I racked up a huge credit card debt to get off the ground, but now, nearly 15 years later, I'm making a very decent living, and have people constantly asking me for advice. The only advice I give them is keep working at it and it will happen if it's something you're willing to work at.

I was poor for two years. HAH. Just getting out of it. :)

Thanks for the comment, I hope to make it to where you're at in 15 years. ^_^

keep at it and you will....everyone I knew (including my parents!) told me to give up early on and get a real job, don't listen to them!

I have a pretty cool career that came out of a high school hobby, in a super competitive field.

Great post, perseverance is key, and a world full of instant gratification has caused a lot of people to forget how much works is required for worthwhile accomplishments!

Thank you. I agree, so many people come to me wanting some quick fix and instantly quit when I mention HARD work.

Very true! Never give up and always look at the bright side of things!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47