You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rent-to-Own Home Offers Legitimate?

in #entrepreneur6 years ago

Rent to own is a real option that has helped thousands of families buy their first home. As with anything - there is the potential for scams - so buyers DO need to beware when dealing with ANY real estate transaction as all of them have the potential for fraud. Thanks for helping bring awareness to the issue. I plan to sell my home using "rent-to own" where I will carry the paper for some buyers. I want to do this so that I can receive a stream of income from the property instead of just selling it for cash. I will ask more than market price for it and people will be willing to pay if they can bypass the bank and get direct financing. The buyers will make a payment to me every month - this is why most investors offer this option.

You do need to be careful though -

Always be sure to do a title search to make sure you understand who the owner is and what liens might be on the property. Buy title insurance to protect yourself from fraudulent sellers.

Always do a home inspection to make sure you are not dealing with asbestos or foundation issues

Great write up - thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

oh, I love it! What I have been doing is a discount lease. they pay on or before the due date and they get a portion put towards a down payment. yes, but you can run title and then something happens. I agree with title and inspection too! thanks for the comment!

yes - I have seen that option also - it's the standard "rent-to own" model - I would be open to that to with the right down payment - but you are right about title - just because it is clean when you first start doesn't mean they cant put other liens on it still. Maybe an annual title search would be a good idea - there has to be a level of trust in a transaction like this because of all the unknowns - still a good option for many people if you can find a seller willing to do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56182.86
ETH 2369.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30