Bothersome Awareness

in #entitlement6 years ago

There are some people that seem so blissfully unaware of the affect of the things that they do on the people around them. I wish I could be one of these people. This is just not the case for me unfortunately. After my upbringing being what it was and then the rocky start that I had to adulthood, I tend to feel as though my existence is a burden to other people. I am painfully aware of everyone around me and their feelings. I am painfully aware of how even the smallest action affects other people.

There are people that seem to believe that no matter what they do it can all be excused away. There are people who call me at work, both at my current job and at some of my past jobs, and scream and cuss at me. They feel as though they should be a priority. They feel as though, for whatever reason they are serving that day, that they should be the first one helped no matter what. The funniest part of that is that nothing I do at my current job or at the previous other desk jobs is life saving. I am not 911 Emergency dispatch. I am not sitting there making sure that life alert devices are working or sending people to fix them if something goes wrong with them. I am not in association with a towing company or an emergency roadside assistance team. What we do here does not save lives. No one is a higher priority than anyone else. The calls come in and we deal with them in the order that we get them. But, some of these people think that they should be taken to the top of the list because they need or want something... JUST LIKE EVERYONE ELSE THAT CALLS. When it is told to them that they are on the list but they are going to have to wait they lose their minds. They don't know anything about me and I highly doubt that even if they did, that they would refrain from exploding all of their hate all over me.

These people have got to either be the biggest douche-canoes on the face of the planet or blissfully ignorant of the fact that their actions can and will affect the people around them. Personally I choose to believe a combination of these depending on the person. If I know anything about them and know that their upbringing was not good or that they have some sort of traumatic brain injury I will give them the benefit of the doubt, however most of the time this is not the case. Most of the time the people that act in this manner were born with a silver spoon in their mouth, handed everything that they could ever want, and raised to believe that they are better than everyone else and that nothing they could ever do is wrong. These people are what is the backbone of what is wrong with the world today. These people procreating is causing yet another problem. They are creating and raising more selfish, entitled people.

I would actually like to know where this all came from. Why are there so many people who cannot see what is being handed to them is not something that they are entitled to? Why are there so many incredibly selfish people in the world? Is it because disciplining your children is now considered abuse? Is it because everyone is afraid what other people will think of them if they actually try to do something right.

With the presence of social media today I feel that a big part of the problem is that everyone has gotten used to the idea of being able to be nosy and into everyone's business and then having their asses kissed when they get offended because their opinions don't match up exactly with the people that they are so nosy with.

Sort:  

Congratulations @silenyzena! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43