Six Annoying things that come with being Bilingual

in #entertainment7 years ago (edited)

What’s up Steemians?!

We all know how amazing it is being able to speak multiple languages. As well as increasing your capabilities and improving your competitiveness in the job market, it can also rend you more accepting to other cultures. Thus rendering you a more accepting and open individual overall.

That being said, as a kid who grew up being bilingual, I have encountered six annoying things that come with being bilingual.

#1 Randomly forgetting words

One of the most frustrating things is being unable to express yourself correctly during an argument which more often than not leads you to losing an argument. You’re thinking of a word but somehow, you suddenly forget how to say it in the spoken language, and yet knowing how to say it in every other language you speak. This particularly happens to me when I’m speaking English and become very passionate about a topic. I will know how to say it in Italian, French and Somali but not in English. It is something that aggravates me to no end.

#2 Understanding what others are saying

Okay, this is not always a negative thing. Particularly when you get a bad feeling that people are talking about you. However, as they say, ignorance is bliss. Therefore, hearing and understanding what everyone saying is not always a good thing, especially when you’re on public transport and all you want to do is get lost in the book you’re reading.

#3 Being unable to translate a joke

No one wants to be stuck in a situation where you’re telling a joke you find hilarious but all you get are blank stares from your friends. Some jokes are just better told in their original language and all attempts to give them justice in another language are simply futile.

#4 When people ask you to say words in different languages just for the sake of it

Okay, so this one might be fun at the beginning but the novelty quickly wears off. I don’t want to be stuck in a conversation where all I’m doing is telling a person how to say basic words in French or Italian. How about whipping out google translate if you’re really interested in knowing how to say ‘My favourite colour is blue’.

#5 When people expect you to know every single word in the spoken language

This one comes directly after number 5. Yes, I speak four languages. No, I am not a walking dictionary. This is particularly annoying when you see the other person suddenly question your ability to even speak another language. They give you this funny look, like ‘are you sure you’re fluent in Italian?’

#6 When people ask you what your favourite football team is

This one is particularly annoying because I absolutely have zero knowledge about football. The most I can say is ‘I drove passed the Arsenal stadium once.’ I don’t like being asked this because I immediately look stupid even trying to answer the question, therefore I just prefer to avoid being asked about football.

That’s all! I hope you enjoyed :)

Let me know which annoying thing you can/cannot relate to and which other languages you can speak other than English.

image source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35