Cobra Kai – TV show (YouTube Red)

in #entertainment6 years ago (edited)

A trip down memory lane. (No Spoilers)

If you are a fan of the original Karate Kid, like me, then check out this under the radar TV show. It is set 30 years after the events of The Karate Kid and is a continuation of the story between the main two protagonists Daniel LaRusso (Ralph Macchio) and Johnny Lawrence (William Zabka). This time we see things mainly through Johnny’s eyes and what a scene it turns out to be.

They both still live in the same area, Encino Hills and Reseda, Los Angeles, but life has changed for both of these guys and you can see that destinies have crossed over after Daniel defeated Johnny the reigning champion all those years ago. Daniel is now a family man and runs a successful car dealership and Johnny’s life is just about reaching rock bottom. One final chain of events spark Johnny into doing something with his failing life and the small re-emergence of Lawrence is making life a little uncomfortable for Daniel. What ensues is hilariously funny, exciting, nostalgic and emotional.

The Official Trailer

Strike First

It’s hard to imagine the reasons why this has not been produced before but I guess Macchio had given a little clue in an interview a while back suggesting that timing and quality were a factor. Either way I am very happy that they have chosen to do this right now and in the manner that they have. They have a beautiful balance between old and new; new characters that are strong and purposeful but maintaining the importance of the old characters and throwing in a few surprises along the way.

Strike Hard

The love, care and attention to detail from the directors and producers; of which two exec producers are Macchio and Zabka themselves, is clear for all to see. They nod to the past without disrupting the flow of the story. I found myself on occasion saying out loud that this is the best thing on TV! They use the history and tradition of the original movie in a respectful and moving way whilst including some young characters and moving the story on to the present day. Ryan Johnson take note!! 😠

No Mercy

The ten episodes of season one are complete and season two has been given the go ahead. Even though this show is still ‘under the radar’ it’s popularity is increasing rapidly and fans that have already experienced the series are unanimous in their praise and support.

Rotten Tomatoes 100% Rating

imdb 9.1 Rating

If you love the movie then you will absolutely love Cobra Kai. You will laugh and, at times be fighting back the emotion of the nostalgia and memories. If you haven’t seen The Karate Kid then I believe this show will still stand up on its own merits. The good news is that the first two episodes are free on YouTube. Give it a try and let me know what you think in the comments.

Episode 1 'Ace Degenerate'

Episode 2 'Strike First'

If you are interested in the location of the original film and of Cobra Kai I have found a local Los Angeles website with some amazing 'Then and Now' pictures. Here

Enjoy but remember, "fear does not exist in this dojo, does it?" 😁



Src

Gaz

Source for Header

Sort:  

I heard about this show and was thinking .. I might have to give this a watch.

After watching the trailer I am 100 % going to give the series a shot .....

You got asthma ?

Yes ...

Not anymore .....

It's just rammed full of awesome quotes, especially from Johnny.

I'm pleased your going to give it a go. Let me know how you get on.

I just got finished watching the first two episodes. I am not disappointed :)

Lol. Great stuff. It gets even better as it goes on.

Great work, I really have enjoyed this show a lot more that I thought I would.

Brilliant news @darthnihilus

I must admit that even with my love of the movie I didn't have high expectations at all. It has surpassed them and some!!

I really think you can see the care they have taken with it. There are some really beautiful touches to it.

I'm really glad you liked it.

Gaz

This post was resteemed and upvoted by @otobot and for Upvote 10+ Account and Resteem to 5900+ Send 0.100 SBD or STEEM with URL in Memo thanks to: @cheese4ead

I didn't send you anything! Why are you thanking me?

Thank you for sharing your content with #theluvbug :)

This post has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. Be sure to share the news of @theluvbug with your blogging buddies - and remember to keep a look out for our daily posts where you can share your links :)

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

Join us on discord:
discord invite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63524.02
ETH 3069.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84