Is Black Mirror one of the Greatest TV Series of all Time?

in #entertainment6 years ago (edited)

portada_black_mirror.jpg

There are not alot of TV series that shock me, fill me full of dread for our future and caused me to think so much after watching an episode that I had to go back and watch some of them again.
Black mirror gets its name from when you turn your phone or TV off and you can see your reflection in it. A black mirror.
The good news is that it is now on Netflix. There are four series. Each episode is stand alone so it means you can take your pick from the episode list. There are only 18 episodes in total and all of them are different lengths but most are around 40 minutes to an hour. There are very famous actors in each episode and some took a paycut to star in Charlie Brookers experiment which did not disappoint.
I was recommended it by a friend that said it was the scariest thing they ever watched. He quickly pointed out that these are not a horror stories (well two episodes are. ) The stories are chilling because they are based in the not so distant future. A future where they are using all the gadgets that we are using with small little tweaks.
I like to start from the start and the first episode in the first series is called "The National Anthem". I highly recommend that you do not watch this one first because it is properly the worst episode of the entire catalogue and you will think I am mental for even writing about Black Mirror.
Here are some of the episodes I highly recommend watching if you get the chance.

Shut Up and Dance

shut up and dance.jpg
img.src
This was my favourite episode of the entire series. Malware takes over a young boys laptop and records him masturbating. They threaten to email everyone in his contacts unless he performs various tasks for the hackers. After I watched this one , my emotions were all over the place. I don't want to ruin it for you but you will know after you watched it and I would like you to comment below if you do get to watch this one. I still can't believe it. I have watched this one a few times and I am still in awe of the story line.

White Christmas

black_mirror_jon_hamm_1.jpg
img.src
John Hamm stars in this one. Based in a remote cabin on christmas day two men who work together start discussing their past. It seems so simple but this one is another great episode and John Hamm plays a great part. I will leave it there on this one. It has to be christmas when you sit down to watch this one. It will make you thankful of what you have and it will have you speaking very nicely to Alexa.

Hang The DJ

hangthedj.jpg
img
The nicest episode of them all. This episode is about a match making system that matches people up for a predefined set of time. So when you go on a date you receive a notification that you will have to live with this person for the next minute, 3 year , decade or forever. It is a great little story and a really good one to watch with the other half.

Nosedive

screenshot20161108at163229.png
img.src

The episode Nosedive is very Steemit based about a world where likes and upvotes are the most important thing in society. Your overall ranking gets you into the best restaurants and bars and helps you afford a big house , car etc.A bit like steemfest.Nosedive is about one lady played by the critically acclaimed actress Rashida Jones who has a bad day and she nosedives in her rating meaning that she is practically considered the lowest of the low. A bit like a whale flagging your post here on steemit. @mikefromtheuk knows the feeling all too well.

The Entire History of You

mainqimg326f1e439cb01b8705159ad42245064ec.jpeg
img src
This episode has the highest viewing figures of the lot. It is about a world where everyone has a go pro implanted in their brains so they can rewind conversations that they had or look back at a holiday they experienced. This time it stars Toby Kebbell who comes home one evening to find his wife very close to family friend. So he goes back through his archives to see if there is anything else. For some reason this episode was quite chilling for me also and it touched some chords for some reasons. I loved it.
So thats my top picks . I also loved Archangel about a mother microchipping her daughter so she could view her location, Crocadile which I found disturbing but brilliant and the CSS Callister which was also a unique thriller in its own right.

Watch these guys. You will be thinking about them for days and weeks after. No TV series has ever had that much of an affect on me. You will laugh and you will cry and you will be very disturbed at times but the most chilling thing about these are that some of the stuff is happening already in todays society. I just cannot wait for the next series.


![Steemit Bloggers]

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

title img src

Sort:  

Ya Black Mirror is crazy good, and surprisingly not hugely popular yet... Scary but very believable and plausible story lines...

Yeah I can’t believe it hasn’t been picked up that much yet . Yeah it’s creepy out 😂😂😂haha

Not the greatest, but it is in my top10 list.

Interested to know what your number 1 is @kriptonik? Please don’t say some Hungarian series that no one knows about . And my second question is , is it on steemhunt? 😀😀

Of course it is on steemhunt, the title of it is the "Attack of killer shockers" :D :D

So, i havent a no1 serie, becuse i saw too much :) Some, what i liked: Dexter, Orphan black, Firefly, Fringe, Elementary, Legion.

Yeah I liked Dexter . I heard of Orphan Black. I may watch that!

Black Mirror is definitely one of the most thought provoking TV series out there! I love watching each new series. The thing with it is that you can actually see these things becoming a reality in the future, and that is the scary part!

I couldn’t of put it better myself beautiful ! 😀

Black Mirror was/is certainly a unique series. I remember watching the first episode - the one with the British PM. Wow! Another one worth watching is (I think I remember the name correctly) Dark Web, or Dark Net, or something like that. That show freaked me out.

Yeah I loved the national anthem but probably shouldn’t of started the series with that one as it puts many people off . The second one isn’t great when they are on the treadmills but it grew on me. Yeah the second one you mentioned was a freaky deaky alright 😂😂😂

Yeah, I found the one with the treadmills pretty boring after the opener. I guess the idea of that was to shock people into continuing. You've seen the other one!? I loved the way they tied in all of the loose ends. Very clever.

Yeah I’ve watched them all. I think the last series was top class. The CSS Callister . Amazing. Loved the way the song weaved it’s way through each one

Mike did you get flagged again ??😂😂😂. Thought you were more than a 52 rep?

You should join whaleshares. There is no rep! Perfect

Oh Wow!!
I want to watch it
I am going to have to make time to
Should the kids watch it?
I like scarring them in the hopes they won't be so glued to their gadgets :)

This serie is not kid-friendly. Actually, neither average-person-friendly, because its full of inconvenient ideas and future-imaginations. Need to thinking to understanding and accepting.

Ok, this means I can't scare them haha
But you've got me even more interested in watching
Thank you for your feedback @kriptonik
Maybe I will walk it first and decide :)

What age are the kids? I wouldn’t recommend it! 😂😂

Between 10 and 16.
Ahhh so I can't scare them... darn it
But I can't wait to watch it
Thanks @blanchy :D

Hi @blanchy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.000 which ranks you at #10499 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 280 places in the last three days (old rank 10779).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 244 contributions, your post is ranked at #113.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Haven't watched it yet oddly enough

You are in for a treat . A disturbing treat

Hi, @blanchy!

You just got a 4.99% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

This is a good reminder. I started the series and ever finished. I did watch a few and thought they were really good. It's sort of like Twilight Zone for our times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44