Throw Back Thursday

in #entertainment6 years ago

"This is Super story..." I remember that honeyed voice that always introduced one of my best television programs back then.

images (14).jpeg

Image source

Before DSTV and it's brothers(GOtv and the rest) took over, the average Nigerian back then was hooked to his or her NTA channel.
Every morning, A.M express was sure. I was a kid then didn't understand the issues discussed during the programme.
On Tuesdays I looked forward to another wonderful package "African pot" hosted by Shimite Nwakolo, a show that portrayed the diversities in African culture. "Goge Africa" also took us on a journey to different parts of Africa.
After that, "Izozo" would be on air, a show that spoke against human trafficking and prostitution.
On Wednesdays? I don't remember any programme. It's been years, but I remember shivering from anxiety on Wednesday nights because we all knew what was coming on Thursday.
"This is super story" ...God bless Wale Adenuga eh.

Remember: One bad apple, Nneka, The Staff, The grasshopper, Behind the smile, Oh father oh daughter , Lawuwo the lion of Africa, e.t.c
It was a time where families would sit together and get entertained.
On Friday morning, whether at school, market or office, Super story was mostly the subject of discussion.
On Fridays, I watched "Fun time" a program for kids and at night, the very handsome Frank Edoho, would ask us all "who wants to be a millionaire"?
Saturday??? I'm blank again.
Then on Sundays, "Tales by moon light" I loved stories so much, I still do.
After that "Wetin dey" a programme on HIV/AIDS would be aired.
Then at night, families would gather once again and wait for Kehinde Young Harry to drop a bomb shell.
Other programs I enjoyed were: Area eleven centre, Face 2 Face and Us, Bachelors for life, Today's woman by Adesuwa , Laugh Patterns (Santana and Lobito), E.t.c

However, Super story stole my heart. From the montage to that deep baritone that always reminded us

we are nothing but pencils in the hand of the creator
to the proverbs offered weekly, Super story was a darling.
I miss those days.
Thursdays are for reminiscing.

Sort:  

Wao! what a nice and memorable moment.

I really miss those "Super Stories", they had morals for all. . Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61232.75
ETH 2977.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60