The Enneagram- Personality Theory and Human Progression

in #enneagram7 years ago

If you've been on Steemit for a while you've probably been to the Steemspeak channel that @fyrstikken manages. If you've been there you have probably seen a bunch of people in Discord with names like Billy [INTJ}. The letters are a personality classification system called Myers Briggs. I have liked that system for a while. I'm an ENTP; the Inventor. Actually, it's only 1-2% of the population, but it seems like they are everywhere on Steemit and makes me feel a little less like an alien on this planet.

Myers Briggs, the good

I like the system, and I think it does a nicce job putting people in some rough buckets according to how they are likely to behave. It's useful when trying to predict people's actions. I lie these classication systems, but one of the things it's missing is "When an ENTP is healthy they tend to do X, and when they are unhealthy they tend towards Y." Shit like that can be helful to guide people in their lives and use some general guidelines to track their development.

Enneagram

This baby has a pretty good chart and system for personality clarification. I'm an 8. If you read about them you may not be surprised by it. I feel it's done a good job describing me for a while, but it also gives me something to aspire to. 8s tend towards 2s when they are at their best. They give freely and work to help and promote others. That sound familiar at all? Anyway, its not a thing I reference daily on myself, but it is something I like to pay attention to every now and again.

Here's a good page to source stuff. https://www.enneagraminstitute.com/how-the-enneagram-system-works/ Some pages and books will specificially talk about relationships between people and how playing off another will bring out our best and worst and what to look for in that regard.

Anyway, thoughts on how to grow as a person or help the peeps in my digital homestead grow is nearly always on my mind, so I thought I'd share this gem and trust the universe to deliver it to the right people that may need it right now to guide them.

Sort:  

I've been profiled for both these in several of my jobs (good old "team building" days) but I cannot for the life of me remember what I am.

A good read. Personality systems are useful in communication and interaction. They are resourceful when working with a client or selling a product. They are also beneficial in weeding out people who do not fit your criteria. I am familiar with another system which distinguishes four types of people. It characterizes them as types of animals. Those are the panther, Owl, Peacock and Dolphin. Of course most folks are hybrids of these but my fit a specific animal. Several months ago I did a blog on those four animals here on Steemit. As long as these systems are used to enhance and empower a personal growth they are good. However when they are used to classify and stereotype people they no longer are useful and run the risk as tools of persecution. Thanks for sharing this info as it is beneficial to all of us.

Cool info! I am an enneagram 4, and a isfp. I'm interested to know what types you guys are...

Very good information @aggroed, I will learn it again, greetings from Aceh

Nice. I have to learn much more about Enneagram. Thanks for sharing @aggroed

@aggroed Very good thinking about all over the people,i like this thinking about digital homestead grow is nearly always on my mind, so I thought I'd share this gem and trust the universe to deliver it to the right people that may need it right now to guide them
thanks

The enneagram is pretty cool @aggroed... "after MBTI" I spent a good 15 years studying it and even went to some retreats and workshops; it was a pretty important part of my path to self-discovery.

I think one of its biggest pluses is the fact that it looks at people not just as a single "static" snapshot. but covers a wide range from what you might be like when you're under extreme stress, as well as what you might be like when you're at your best. That, alone, makes it a better tool than MBTI which tends to be pretty one-dimensional... and not that much of a growth tool.

Spent quite a while delving into the more spiritual sides of the Enneagram, which ultimately led me more towards studies in nonduality and beyond.

It's definitely a good gig for those interested not only in "personality typing" but also in serious long term self-improvement.

I'm a type 9-- and an INFJ on MBTI. Thanks for sharing this!

Totally agree. The real benefit is in the progression. Not just the type or habits, but healthy vs unhealthy expression of tendencies.

Ohhh thanks for this awesome share! I haven't seen this chart before. I wonder what I'll be :)

Very thought provoking personality tests by this institute. I've book marked their site. Going to spend some in depth time later in reading more about them. I wonder what this decision to check them out later says about my classification? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47