Prayer for enlightenment: Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law. Psalm 119:18

Psalm 119 is a psalm of praise to God and his holy law. Living according to the law is the greatest blessing for man, the hymn tells us, continuing the teaching of Psalm 1, the Psalm of the two ways. The law of the Lord is happiness, but also much more, it is joy, security, and beatitude.
With these words, the psalm begins:
"Blessed are those whose ways are blameless,
who walk according to the law of the LORD.
Blessed are those who keep his statutes
and seek him with all their heart" Psalm 119:1-2.
But then the Psalm continues and teaches us something else, the law in itself is good but it is not enough, because the law has to be lived with a heart of flesh and not of stone. As God told the prophet Ezekiel: "I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh" Ezekiel 36:26.
This is why the Psalm is also a prayer to the Lord for spiritual enlightenment:
"Be good to your servant while I live,
that I may obey your word.
Open my eyes that I may see
wonderful things in your law" Psalm 119:17-18.
To understand the meaning of the law in its totality, the psalm teaches us, we must have a heart that allows us to perceive the world with the eyes of God, only the Lord can open with his grace the eye of the mind in man, as the Psalm explains: "Give me understanding, so that I may keep your law and obey it with all my heart" Psalm 119:34.
The prophet Daniel is a good example of what it means to have the "eyes of understanding" open, in the trial of Susanna (Book of Daniel 13:1-64), Daniel through divine inspiration manages to reach the truth and thus save Susanna from a false accusation and condemnation. The virtue of prudence or the human reason are not enough to do the correct thing and thus fulfill the divine will.
For this reason in the sapiential books the law of Moses has another expression: "Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man", Ecclesiastes 12:13.
The Bible with this Psalm teaches us to seek that understanding that opens the eyes of our soul and spirit, as the greatest good.
Prayer for enlightenment. Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law. Psalm 119,18.jpg
For more information visit my profile follow the link and download for free my ebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31