{ENJOY & LEARN Series} - If you love space - this might make you sad (Jupiter)

in #enjoy-learn6 years ago

The Greatest Storm in Our Solar System Has Shockingly Few Years Left
It could be gone in our lifetime.


Between 1800 to 1979, the size of the storm reduced from the equivalent of four times the diameter of our Earth to about twice the diameter (down to half size) and now it is even smaller, about 1.3 times the diameter.

Read more about it at: https://www.sciencealert.com/jupiter-s-great-red-spot-may-have-only-10-to-20-years-left-before-it-dies?perpetual=yes&limitstart=1





Anecdotal Comment:
Because we call Jupiter a planet (a gas giant) we do not find it easy to visualise the size. When a small storm on its surface is (was) larger the four Earths, then the thought of how large the planet itself must be becomes astounding - stunning. Makes me wonder what it would be like to be on a planet the size of Jupiter, but with a solid body (solid in the sense Earth is). I guess I would not live long enough to appreciate the conditions, so I'll skip a visit for now - but I'll go check it out as a soul, later on.



ENJOY & LEARN Series


Now and then I will make posts under this heading. They will be videos and articles I find interesting, which also teach me something. I hope you enjoy and find them educational.

Alexandros

Saturday, 17th March,2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42