You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cross-domain authentication is here! Big milestone reached!

in #engrave5 years ago (edited)

Wow, what a great update! Making it so that users don't have to log in every time is definitely a huge improvement to the user experience. I'm very impressed with the amount of work that has been put into this update as well.

As for the code, it's mostly really great, but there are some things that I was wondering. In files such as sso_rest.js var is used a lot and the quality in general seems a bit lower than other parts of the codebase. For example, in authorize.ts the quality of the code is better, and const is used instead of var. I'm guessing that the former was taken from somewhere else, whereas the latter was written by yourself? If that's the case, then in my opinion you should mention this somewhere in the code at least, and maybe even in the post itself.

Either way, as I said before, this is a great update and it's obvious a lot of work went into it. For this reason, I will be picking it as a "staff pick", which means it will receive the highest reward possible for the development category. Looking forward to seeing more contributions from you guys in the future!

P.S. it says Jason instead of JSON, haha.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thank you, I really appreciate your feedback and decision!

In files such as sso_rest.js var is used a lot and the quality in general seems a bit lower than other parts of the codebase

The entire concept of SSO was adopted from this project, and some file was untouched, like sso_rest.js (four files if I remember correctly). It looks like a POC and some files could be written much better of course. I just wanted to focus on "bigger picture" of this update. But indeed, it's necessary to refactor those files. I will do it myself or maybe open an issue on Github and let to do it by one of the Utopian users? :)

I am aware of varied code quality. Engrave codebase is a one-man-job. I personally wrote every single line of code (except for some files like CSS for themes or those third-party solutions mentioned above) and gained a lot of experience doing that. There are still a lot of places that need to be refactored but I think I'm going in the right direction. Development is now much easier than previously. And I feel better as a backend than frontend developer as you can tell from both code quality and some imperfections of appearance. And I'm focused on missing features. There will be time to fine tune everything else :)

If that's the case, then in my opinion you should mention this somewhere in the code at least, and maybe even in the post itself.

I'm going to post more detailed technical articles as part of "Engineering" category of blog.engrave.website and there this information will be provided with all other details.

P.S. it says Jason instead of JSON, haha.

Wait, what? Where? There's nothing like that, and never was ;)

Is @engrave 100% open source?

Yes

Thank you for your review, @amosbastian! Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00