English Phrasal Verbs (9/365) - Call Somebody Out On Something

in #englishphrasalverbs7 years ago (edited)

Image Credit

To call somebody out on something is to criticize somebody for something or to ask them to explain their actions. I've heard this used a lot by North Americans. I'm not sure it is used that much in the UK or elsewhere.

  • The Senate Budget Committee called the director of the agency out on several serious budget overruns.
  • I called an employee of mine out on falling behind in schedule.
Sort:  

We we think someone is better than us in any aspect we call them out on everything they did or say.

I had to call my dog's attention because he made number 2 inside the house. True story lol. I think this time I present a good example anyway if it's not good anyway I had to clean it :D You did not put examples I suppose that it is so that we present some I like the idea.

To call somebody's attention to something is a different phrasal verb than call somebody out on something. I've added a couple of examples now. Was your dog sick or something? Usually they know better than to make #2 inside the house if you always take them for a walk if necessary.

he's not sick just that we forgot to open the backyard door he has a place where he always goes, thx for the examples.

No sentences today

Will be added in a minute. We were busy this morning.

Thank you :)

Thanks for a little learning opportunity.It is ok.

It does not make much sense to me. It's a very weird modism. But anyway, thanks

It helps to stop expecting phrasal verbs to make sense. They are expressions whose meaning cannot be deduced from their parts by definition. Any language is full of arbitrary conventions and phrasal verbs are a typical example of such a convention in English.

I thought so. I thank you for the clarification.
Te lo agradesco!..👍😎

i assumed that he motions "this is a culprit!!!"
lol
^_^
@upvoted

That guy is calling you out on something you did or said. The picture was chosen to help you remember today's lesson.

P.S. Please don't write upvoted if you didn't.

ohh!!
so sorry,,@markkujantunen..i always try all to vote and resteem..
error of network it do so..
hahahaha...
don't take it negative..
it was just joking,man...
@upvoted

Ok. It has happened a lot lately.

Now I am calling you to explain this! lol

It would be correct to say "I'm calling you out on posting this."

"I'm calling you out on posting this."

Not "for"?

Edit: my mistake, I think... I think I read in your post "call out for" while your title says "call out on". It seems I just read the whole post wrong. ;)

lol, you got no chill bro ;-)

This post is all about education, bro.

At the beginning you talk about judging or criticizing others. And the truth is that it is a very difficult subject to deal with, since one lets oneself be carried away. But sooner or later one learns to love and respect the differences of others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74