English Phrasal Verbs (148/365) - Top Off Something (With Something)

in #englishphrasalverbs6 years ago (edited)

Do Not Top Off

Image Credit CC BY 2.0)

To top off something with something means

A) to fill a container that is already partly filled with a liquid

Example sentence:

  • I'd better top off my car with petrol before I set off for the long drive.

B) to complete something to do one final thing

Example sentence:

  • For maximum craziness, you can top off your clown costume with a Darth Vader helmet and hockey goalie's leg pads.
Sort:  

I'd better top off my car with petrol, before traveling tomorrow for Margarita, my brother invited me with all the expenses paid ..

Yes but we never top off with "petrol" like they do in Europe. In the States its gas! Lol

It's gas In Canada, too. I have Canadian relatives. According to a second cousin of mine (born and raised in Vancouver, BC, has lived for some years in Fort McMurray, Alberta), they speak pretty similarly in British Columbia and the US West coast. But there exist some differences between Canadian and US vocabulary. For example, they prefer the word washroom to bathroom when referring to the loo (British). And have weird heads in South Park. lol

I know some English go players and meet them at international tournaments. Most of them live in the southeast of the country. I normally use British vocabulary and follow British pronunciation rules. With my Canadian relatives, I use their version of the language.

Michigan shares a border with Canada. Have you visited Canada by driving over the border? If yes, do you go there regularly?

When I was quite young I went on a fly in fishing trip to a place called Rollo Lake maybe 40 years ago. You could drink the water from the lake and it was only accessible by plane!

I used to go over from Detroit to Windsor once in a while when I was younger. Even by boat coz the Detroit River is not very wide and is the border. I have not since 2001. I have heard too many stories of people being hassled coming back into the US, mainly for drug suspicion.

I am pretty much a home body. I like my lake and boats right out the door. I took a vacation last month for first time in about 25 years lol. I am looking to move south to Virginia because the winters are so harsh here in Michigan.

Virginia, cool! Have you been looking into coastal areas specifically or the whole state? Rural areas or a city? It's strange how the state border runs along the Potomac river smack in the middle of Washington D.C. metropolitan area less than two miles from Capitol Hill. Virginia has a very long coastline. Lots of small inlets and bays.

Oh yes! Virginia and Maryland both gave land to form Washington DC I believe. I am a water guy, so I am torn between the ocean and a nice lake. They damned up rivers to create large lakes and make hydro electric power. Here are a few pics from Smith Mountain Lake where I am looking for land to build on.
https://steemit.com/travel/@old-guy-photos/smith-mountain-lake-vacation

I also went a bit further south to the beach in South Carolina. I would enjoy a place there as well lol. You just inspired me to do a post showing some of the beautiful water/beach. I will tag you in it as well :)

I remember that post. I read and upvoted it.

That lake seems to have a very long and jagged shoreline. I'm looking at the Google Maps satellite image right now. The lake seems to be a reservoir which I think is why the shoreline is so complicated: if it were a natural lake it would be more likely for the water to have eroded the shoreline to straighten it. There are no large differences in elevation except for the east.

Top off my wallet wit gold bars!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82