What is another way to say 'making me'

in #english6 years ago

It’s somewhat ambiguous out of context, but I will try and clarify the uses of this phrase .

  1. To make someone do something is ‘to force’, which means ‘not to give someone the option to refuse’

to be threatened with physical harm unless you follow orders/ comply with demands/ do exactly as you are told.

For example; I had to steal the car, he made me do it.
The boss is making me fire 2 people in the sales department.
‘The men who came into the bar made me an offer I can’t refuse’.

forcing (me) ordered or ordering (me) inducing or induced (me)

  1. Also, ‘making me’ is used to describe the feelings a person, situation etc evokes in you, or somebody else.

‘He is making me feel like a fool/making a fool of me*’,
‘making me angry’,
‘the thought of moving is making me nervous’
‘that film was making me cry’.

So, humiliating/ed (me) he incited my rage (dramatic) filled me with rage, annoying/ed (me), irritating me, bugging me, gets on my nerves, reduced me to tears, brought/bring tears to my eyes or moved me to tears

3.When someone is creating an item or opportunity for you.

‘She is making me a dress for the wedding’ or ‘they are making me head of the personnel department’.
They are promoting me to ‘head ….’

I hope this is helpful. If you were hoping for something more specific, ask a more detailed question and I’ll be happy to help

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85