BREAST SELF- EXAMINATION. How to do it?

in #english6 years ago

According to the WHO: "Breast cancer is the most common among women worldwide, accounting for 16% of all female cancers. It is estimated that 519,000 women died from breast cancer in 2004 and, although this cancer is considered a disease of the developed world, the majority (69%) of deaths due to this cause are registered in developing countries ".

"The incidence varies a lot around the world, with rates normalized by age of up to 99.4 per 100 000 in North America. Eastern Europe, South America, Southern Africa and Western Asia present moderate incidences, but increasing. The lowest incidence occurs in most African countries, but there is also an increase in the incidence of breast cancer. "


SOURCE

Women must have done this self-examination on a regular and systemic, monthly or quarterly basis. the ideal moment is after menstruation; in the postmenopausal stage it must be done at a fixed date.

Step # 1 Standing in front of the mirror with your arms at your sides, you will observe the breasts, then with the arms above the head and finally, the hands at the waist.


SOURCE

This is done so that the woman can detect redness, sinking, changes in symmetry and size.

Step # 2 lying down palpates the breasts.

To palpate the right breast, raise the right arm behind the head with the fingers of the left hand proceeds to feel in a circular way in the clockwise direction, then linearly, followed by gently squeezing the nipple and finally palpate the axillary region. In the same way you will do it on the left side, raising the left arm behind the head and palpating with the fingers of the right hand.

![](
SOURCE

This is in order to find thickening, nodules or secretions.

If you get some of these signs go to the doctor and perform a study with other diagnostic means.

There are benign tumors. The most frequent are fibroadenomas, they occur in young women between 20 and 25 years old, although it tends to appear also in adolescents.

I will tell you a little about my story when I was 13 years old, on television they promoted breast self-examination, the fact is that I was curious, and one day when I showered to go to school I did, and I found a nodule, I did not take it importance, I really had no idea what I was doing, or what I should find, I told my mother and she cried like she was going to die. The truth worries me because I did not know what was happening, that same day we went to the gynecologist and I was diagnosed with breast fibroadenoma, the doctor briefly explained what it was and my mother calmed down. I was under control for a year and then I had surgery.

Sources;
1.- http://www.who.int/topics/cancer/breastcancer/es/
2.- Obstetricia y Ginecóloga, Dr. Orlando Rigol; Editorial Ciencias Medicas 2004.La Habana,Cuba.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80