Improve your English

in #english6 years ago (edited)

board-64269__480.jpg

English is not the first language of majority of the world's populace. Nonetheless, many people strive to learn it everyday.
Learning a new language is not an easy task, we commit many mistakes both in speaking and writing.
It does not hurt however, to identify mistakes and correct them.

Here are a few corrected errors we make daily;
Barbara is matured.❌
Barbara is mature.✅

I have a pen in my stuffs.❌
I have a pen in my stuff.✅✅

From henceforth ❌
Henceforth✅

I like James's travelling bag.❌
I like James's travel bag.✅

I'm not hearing you.❌
I can't hear you.✅🤝🏽

I'm going to barber my hair.❌
I'm going for a haircut.✅

The reason is because...❌
The reason is...✅

I'm the last born of my family.❌
I'm the last child of my parents. ✅

Pull resources together❌
Pool resources✅

We had roasted chicken for dinner.❌
We had roast chicken for dinner.✅

Last but not the least, …❌
Last but not least, …✅

My senior brother❌
My elder brother✅

My junior sister❌
My younger sister✅

They know fully well that …❌
They know full well that …✅

These and many others are the common mistakes we make in speaking and writing.
Let's correct ourselves and improve our English.

Image from pixabay.com

Thanks for your attention

@serwaa #steemitghana

Sort:  

We often mix some of these and make mistakes thinking it is right, thanks for educating us @serwaaa

Yes. Thanks for reading @collinz

Great post! You just got a 21.82% upvote from @edensgarden!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

This post has received a 5.56% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @serwaa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65