IMPROVE YOUR ENGLISH

in #english6 years ago (edited)

Essay-on-Importance-of-English-Language-with-Quotation.jpeg

Hello there. It's another day on 'Improve Your English'.
It is a daily post I make to make readers and writers sensitive to good English. (maybe not daily but I intend to, from now on...lol)

Without wasting time let's move! .....

The Comma

The comma is a punctuation mark used to indicate breaks in sentences. It is used to separate words or groups of words.
Many of us here seem to know the variant uses of the comma. (For those who do not, I would post something on commas some other time.)

Today's lesson however, is on commas and spacing.

Study the sentence below:

I have a pen,pencil,eraser,crayons and water colours for my drawing.

Noticed the problem? There is no space after the commas.
Many people use commas without spacing. It is pretty common here on steemit.

Commas are not spaces. Commas do not replace spaces. Each time you use a comma, create a space, just as you separate words with spaces.
So the correct sentence will be:
I have a pen, pencil, eraser, crayons and water colours for my drawing.

Make it easy for readers to read and comprehend your blogs.

Nice day everyone.

Image source

@serwaa IMG-20180104-WA0010.jpg steemitghana

Sort:  

Nice learning post

Good tutorial blog

Nice i never had a thought of that ... I mean the commas and spacing ... Thanks school teacher ...lol

Will be expecting more of them

Haha.... I'll be posting something everyday on English. You can come around.

This post has been resteemed by @steemiteditors - keep up the good work!

Follow @steemiteditors to get updates on editor’s availability, to receive writing tips and advice, and to network within our community.

Thanks for passing by @steemiteditors. I sure will.

That's a good one! I do notice that sometimes, people tend to forget spaces after commas. Even I did that mistake! 😂

Ha😀. It has become a common mistake these days.

Yes. It’s so common that people often confuse which one is the right one

My grammarian is in the making

Thanks for this.

You're welcome. Thanks for reading .

A very expressive education..thanks for the education @serwaa. Resteemed

Thanks Mcsamm

My grammar has being improving gradually when i started following
Your lessons. Keep doing your good work. @serwaa.

I'm happy it has helped. Thanks for always stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00