Making Requests and OfferssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #english6 years ago

image
Here are some better phrases to make polite requests in English:

Do you mind…?
Would you mind…?
Could I…?
Would it be ok if…?
Would it be possible…?
Would you be willing to…?
Request to do something for you
Could you open the door for me, please?
Would you mind opening the door for me, please?
Would you mind is followed by the verb and -ing.
Can you open the door for me, please?
Asking if you can do something
When you want to do something:

Can I use your bike, please?
Could I borrow some money from you, please?
Could is more polite that can
Do you mind if I open the door?
Do you mind if…" is followed by the verb in the present tense, don't use please. It's already polite enough
Would you mind if I turned up the heating?
Would you mind if… is followed by the verb in the past tense, don't use please. It's already polite enough
Offering to do something for another person
Can I help you?
Shall I open the window for you?
Would you like another coffee?
Would you like me to answer the phone?
I'll do the photocopying, if you like.
Shall, can and will are followed by the verb without to.

Shall is particularly British English and is more formal than can. Would you like… is followed either by a noun, or by an object pronoun and the verb with to.

Responding to offers
These English dialogues show you ways to accept or reject offers made to you.

Can I help you?
Yes, please. I'd like to know what time the train leaves.
Can I help you?
No thanks, I'm just looking.
Shall I open the window for you?
Yes please. That would be very kind of you.
Would you like another coffee?
No thanks/ No thank you.
Would you like another coffee?
Yes please, that would be lovely/ Yes please, I'd love one.
Would you like me to answer the phone?
If you wouldn't mind/ If you could. (Note: Don't answer "Yes, I would", as this sounds like you expect someone to do it for you.)
I'll do the photocopying, if you like.
It's OK, I can do it./ Don't worry, I'll do it./ Thank you, that would be great.

Hopefully help
***thank's for your visit ***

@orldpress

Sort:  

Good lesson, if there is Indonesian language is better.

Yup, right sir

Pelajaran yang bagus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66382.93
ETH 3031.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69