You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gilgamesh and Enkidu, Were they a couple? A college paper for you to read and respond to

in #english7 years ago

Very interesting paper, one that is a surprise to find on Steemit. I think you correctly point out that concepts of friendship as well as concepts of deeper emotional relationships are hard to grasp in the era in which the epic was written. I think that a major point of the story was that Gilgamesh was 2/3 god and 1/3 man (however that can be explained). Enkidu was not born in the usual way, but was formed from spittle from Aruru and clay. Enkidu is in many ways the opposite of Gilgamesh, yet they were equals. Homosexuality in Mesopotamia is an interesting question also. Since it did not result in children, perhaps it was something that not recorded in descriptions of marriage and is difficult to reconstruct.

Sort:  

Thank you for responding. I am really happy to have someone read my work and respond. I am putting college papers I have previously written. I like, but am nervous, about hearing what other people say. I know what my teachers wanted from me, but it is nice to have others read and give input. I will check out your blog and have followed you. I am thinking of trying my hand at writing chapters of fiction and posting here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62