Learning English has been so interesting...

in #english7 years ago

As a native Spanish speaker, I always wanted to understand English language since I was a little kid, I played lots of video games in English, (those games had only English language) and I learned a few important things while I was playing all the time. Of course, at that age I was always looking for new words that helped me in a good way! Also, I love video games because they teach you lots of things that are behind the main idea. So, through all that I could learn a "little of English language".

I was always one of the best students at English course in school, High School, University, etc. In the last one, I found people that were even better than me, so much better in fact, so, I learned from them. After finishing the career and becoming and Engineer in Computer Science, I decided to start an English course in 2015 and I finished it last year in December. The classes were only on Saturdays so, that's why it took three years.

I'm happy with the decision I made about studying English, three years involved in another language were super awesome and I learned so many things! I shared moments with different kinds of people that helped me to improve my English skills.

All was about improving and improving, in fact, that is still ON in my mind and heart with all my strength. I remember that every level, I kind of checked every student, every classmate to watch how much English they knew and how awesome they were, so, when I found two or three people that had awesome skills, I just tried to reach their level by studying and practicing more, also I told some of them to practice with me to keep improving my language.

The hardest part at least, for most of us, is writing paragraphs that make sense and of course, with good grammar. We practiced a lot of writing through all the course. It was amazing and sometimes hard, depending on the teacher.

This is not all the story about my English learning, the course was a big step and I'm grateful because of making that important decision, but on the other hand, before studying the course I met (virtually) a girl who's from The Netherlands. Turns out that she is kind of the base of my English knowledge. Why? Because I started chatting with her several years ago, like in 2013 and it was very difficult for me to talk to her... I always was writing bad with mistakes, even I wrote her in Spanish sometimes (by mistake) because I wasn't used to talk or chat in English.

Thanks to her, I could improve my English and write even better. I'm still studying the language, practicing and learning new words to expand my vocabulary! It's been nice to talk to people in English but this is just the beginning of a great journey!

PD: When I forget a word in Spanish, I use to say the meaning in English so I can be understood. That's a funny fact because it happens to me all the time.

Sort:  

Congratulations @malex15! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @malex15! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!