The words that are misused: 'allude' and 'ellude'

in #english7 years ago (edited)

This is an 100% original post, not sourced from other articles (unlike my other posts). Enjoy!

Many people get confused easily by words in the English language. I am here to solve this issue.
Today's words will be allude and elude, which commonly get mixed up.

allude

Allude is always followed by the preposition to. When you allude to someone or something, you refer to them or mention them, especially in a brief or indirect way.

For example:

  • She said something about a local celebrity. Who do you think she was alluding to?
  • I was alluding to the poem by Shakespeare that begins 'Shall I compare thee to a summer's day?'

elude

Elude, on the other hand, is a rather formal word meaning to 'escape' or 'avoid'. When you elude someone, you succeed in not being caught by them. Elude is quite often used figuratively as well. If you say that something such as a person's name eludes you, you are unable to remember it.

For example:

  • They eluded their pursuers by disguising themselves as clowns and joining the parade.
  • I can recite most of the poem, but the very last line eludes me, I'm afraid.

Happy Writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48