My trip to Mexico

in #english6 years ago (edited)

Hello, 


As I said in my presentation (in french, but maybe I'll do one in english), I love travelling. Now that I'm part of the Steemit community, I would like to share my travelling experiences. 


Two years ago, I was in Léon, in Mexico. There are a lot of "clichés" about Mexico, some of them can be true. For instance, I have spent my time eating tacos. It is a popular and cheap meal. It has nothing to do with the tacos that are sold in France. Let me tell you that I am extremely sad about it :( 

It is also true that, Mexican people, as their fellows from Latin America, have their type of driving. And also have their own highway code. I really thought that I was going to die in a Mexican cab. True story n°1 : I saw a toddler, standing on the back of a car, with the window wide opened. Perfectly safe and normal, isn't it ? True story n°2 : I saw eight people going out from a cab that could take only five people maximum. I guess we can say that Mexicans are kings of the human Tetris. 

The question now would be : what was I doing in Mexico ? I was an english and french teacher in a languages academy (Academia Europea). My elder sister was the headmaster of the academy, she needed teachers and I used to give english lessons in France, so... here I am ! There, I lived in the almost empty appartment of my sister and her roommate. 


I didn't take this picture, but this how the city looks. It has a beautiful historical quarter, and there is also the Parque Metropolitano where you can do barbecues. It is a nice city, but I think that it is also industrial so you have less nice parts. 


I had the chance to visit many cities : San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Puerto Vallarta, Guadalaraja (try to pronounce it, I dare you) and Tequila. All those cities have their authenticity. In Puerto Vallarta, my sister, my mother and I we lived like queens during two days (sun diving, doing jet ski, having hot stones massage, getting drinks in the pool bar,...). Guanajuato is the city that I enjoyed the most because it is a cultural and a party town. 

I stayed in Mexico during two months and a half. I can say it was an amazing professionnal experience, I had good relationships with my colleagues and my students. 

But the beginning was hard... I felt homesick, I had the cultural shock, so I cried during two weeks. It was difficult because I knew I was lucky, but in another way, no one seemed to understand how hard it could be to stay in a country you don't know and to feel lonely. 

After a few weeks, it got better, I had more classes, I met new colleagues, I started to go out,... And it got even better when my mother arrived in July ! Of course, when you come back from work at 9 in the evening and your mommy cooked you a nice meal, everything is better. More when she buys furniture for the appartment, and you finally have a table and don't have to eat on your bed anymore !

I can surely say that my trip to Mexico is one of the best, I came back home with a nice tattoo (my sister and I decided to have one in common. They are not the same... First she asked me to do it first so she could see, and then she did it bigger with the excuse that "I am the big sister, so mine is bigger"... You have to know that weeks before, she kept saying that our tattoos had to be identical).

Here are some pictures that I took : 


City of Guanajuato The pozole is a Mexican plate, it is a corn soup and you can put anything inside (avocado, onions,...). It is delicious. San Miguel de Allende See you later ! :)
Sort:  

I'm so enjoying all of your travel posts! Was it a summer teaching position that brought you to Mexico?

Yes, exactly, my sister was the headmaster and she offered me the job ! My mother offered me the plane ticket for my birthday (i am very lucky) and I went there. It was my first time on the American continent! Im glad you enjoy reading it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47