Titulo: Cervantes Magazine "Happy 2018": Audiovisual Christmas

in #english6 years ago

[Cervantes Magazine - Happy 2018]

Christmas is a time of year that in Europe and America, for cultural and religious reasons, is celebrated with some intensity, we eat as if the world is going to end, we drink as if we want to forget something or to deal with that family member you can’t stand sober, and on television we are bombarded with unspeakable films, i say this with the hope of not being insulting and cause the closure of this section, or even the magazine...



This is decentralized? Yes, I know, so imagine what comes to mind. But there are some exceptions that are worth mentioning, I will give my recommendations.

After reading the article's intro, any of you, who are very sharp and catch things on the fly, can come to the conclusion that I don’t especially like these Holidays. You are right, I personally refuse to have a tradition order me to be happy with the world and with those around me at this time of year just because ... IT IS CHRISTMAS !!.

Given my indomitable critical spirit, I spend all year happy, I don’t argue with anyone and live my life as best I can and the truth is that I can’t complain, I have health, love and some SBD in the wallet ... but when they arrive These parties change my character and I become sullen and introspective, the Christmas spirit gives me allergies, the general hypocrisy is superior to my strength and the movies with subliminal message of love and happiness buried under a huge amount of syrup and pastry cream makes me nauseous, so I'm going to ignore any romantic comedy with a Christmas theme, no matter who directs it or which Hollywood star is in it, all in the trash !!

Once this subgenre is eliminated, we’ll go with the few movies that I think are worthwhile.

To start, a movie that is from many years ago and has as protagonist a big star like Bill Murray. I’m talking about Scrooged, or as it was called in Spain in one of those titles that the producers took out of the hat with the imagination of a drunken chimpanzee… “Los Fantasmas Atacan al Jefe” (The Ghosts Attack the Boss).

It is an adaptation of the Charles Dickens classic, A Christmas Carol. And it's one of the few Christmas audiovisual products that I can recognize as a more than decent movie, a classic.


Source

Another classic that every movie buff must always keep in mind is Edward Scissorhands. Tim Burton gives us a story that has little to do with Christmas but that can be framed in it as it is the story a grandmother tells her granddaughter on Christmas Day.


Source

Imagine that on Christmas day, you are given a living being that looks like a stuffed animal, it’s very cute and makes funny little noises, but you must follow a series of guidelines in order to avoid the type of chaos that brings death and destruction to your village... the youngest have no idea what I'm talking about, but if you are over 30 and i tell you not wet them or feed them after midnight, you know what I’m referring to ... The Gremlins!, great horror movie / 80’s humor!! We all dreamed of having a Gremlin or a Critter.


Source

My last recommendation is A Nightmare Before Christmas, again by Tim Burton, this is an animation and the truth is that he surprised audiences back in the day for his aesthetics and the story that he brought us, you can say Burton and stories are almost the same thing.


Source

And there it is, i refuse to talk about the hundreds of thousands of trash movies that are generated every year because I run away from them like the plague, if you can expand this list, I will thank you, for my part there is nothing more to add ... just saying goodbye to all of you and wish you have a good holiday and that you are happy ... but who am i trying to fool!! You see, this is the posture I was talking about at the beginning, I don’t give a damn how you are these next fifteen days! I want you to be happy and have a decent life all year and get through Christmas as quickly and painlessly as you can ;)

A hug from Uno de Huesca and see you next year!


[Return to Home page]


Sort:  

I love Christmas session

Congratulations @ivan-perez-anies! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11