Cervantes Magazine - Vol. 16: Cryptomovies and Cryptoseries

in #english7 years ago (edited)

[Cervantes Magazine - Number 16]

Cinema is no longer made like before, the series of the eighties were better than now, actresses from that decade had real glamour, the gallants were much more gallant! And so we could keep going for hours and hours ... nostalgia in the audiovisual world always leads to interesting discussions that end with a very clear conclusion ...that there is no conclusion.



As an enthusiast - not an expert - of the world of cinema but a regular writer on this world, my vision has always been that of a "habitual non-specialized user", don’t expect a thoughtful analysis about the differences between the nuances of creation, production and derivatives from the audiovisual world from a future / present point of view ... I don't even know what i’ve just said xD

I’m only going to leave reflected in the blockchain the films that to me, personally, cause me certain nostalgia. Being a by-product of the 80's generation, those that coincide with my age may be more or less reflected ... those who are younger will not know what I'm talking about, and those who are older will say that the movies of their time were good, "not the shit we have now!" ... as you get older you become more grumpy and think that any past age was better xD

Nostalgia: Feeling sorry for the distance, absence, deprivation or loss of someone or something dear.

If we look at the pure definition of what nostalgia is, the audiovisual world would not fit in it since films are not lost and we can always enjoy them, from their beginnings, in black and white , to the latest innovations with the most advanced FX ... what happens is that movies and series evoke certain memories and it is these memories that can generate nostalgia ... this is what this article is going to be about.

Many well-known critics, those who enter the cinema for free and then put everything they have seen on a rant because it’s not good, it’s not new, it’s not original, this was done by someone in the 70s ... etc., they don’t say that films from before was better in an objective way, what happens to them is that their lives at that moment were better and when they see or just name certain films of that time, it comes to mind that they saw a movie with that girl they liked so much, or that after leaving the cinema they went out with their friends and what an awesome time that was ... in short, things that they don’t do now because they live bitter and then, and so everything seems like shit xD

This is pure supposition, without any scientific criteria or anything like that ...
following these premises that I have invented, as I said a few words ago, I'm going to make my nostalgia list. Surely I'll leave some, but that will cause me nostalgia when you read this article again in twenty years and it will be fine ... Shit i left "this" movie out !!! What a nostalgia comes to me now that I think about it! ;)

I am nostalgic about Second World War movies that were broadcast on one of the two channels that we had in Spain in the 80s ... they are easily recognizable, those in which the Americans killed many Germans and Japanese in very different, clean and little explicit ways. The enemy soldiers only had to put their hands on their guts, make a noise like "argggg" with pain on their faces and fall collapsed very quickly. I remember especially "The Dirty Dozen", "The bridge on the river Kwai" or "The Guns of Navarone" ... but there were many more, those of the Pacific campaign with models of ships and submarines were very awesome also xD



Source


Another production that also evokes nostalgia to me is a series ... let me make a parenthesis to say that I will not go into childhood nostalgia with "Dragon Ball", "Musculman/Kinnikuman", "Dungeons & Dragons", etc, because it could take hours and i would end up crying of grief because the drawings are now shit, not like the old ones! The grandpa inside me is speaking now xD

As I was saying, a series that causes me nostalgia is "Murder, She Wrote" ... all those afternoons we had at home discovering with Jessica Fletcher who was the killer in that chapter! There are many series of this type, but this one causes me nostalgia, others don’t, that's life.



Source


A film that generates that feeling in me is “Alien" and almost at the same level "Highlander" each one for a different reason, but similar;)

"Braveheart" also manages to introduce nostalgia in my mind when I remember it, I don’t know the reason exactly, but that movie marked me, I think, like everyone else.



Source


Now, writing this, I realize the amount of movies that generate me a kind of feeling that can be classified as nostalgia ... it's impressive, I recommend that you make the effort to remember movies that have marked you in some sense and you will see how there are many! I don’t know ... I remember all the "Lethal Weapon" saga, "Die Hard", all of "Rambo", "Planet of the Apes", "The Neverending Story", "Conan the Barbarian" ... anyways, they are many. I don’t care anymore if they had quality or not, simply, they were movies that were put on TV when there was not much offer and gathered in front of that large and ugly square box the whole family to see a movie that if you did not see it at that time you thought you would never see it, there were no videos or the Internet. It was a different concept, neither better nor worse, just different. The nostalgic will say that it was better, and I respect that but I don’t agree ;)



Source


Graphical definition of Nostalgia



I leave the matter here because I’m feeling very nostalgic and I see myself looking for a torrent of "The Great Escape" or something like that and having regrets about half an hour of watching it, hahaha

Many will notice that the black and white cinema and mythical films like "Casablanca" or "Gone with the Wind" are not listed here ... for me that’s prehistory more than nostalgia xD



Source


Greetings to you all, but an old school one, effusive and elegant at the same time, a strong, firm and serene handshake, not those crazy ones that are done now with high fives and whatever that is! What a nostalgia for those times that will no longer return xD


[Return to Home page]


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55