Dictionary definitions and meanings of the word myself

in #english2 years ago

This post talks about the dictionary definition and meanings of the English word myself. phonetic, phonetics, origin, meanings


Phonetic

mʌɪˈsɛlf


Phonetics

Text pronounciation: undefined

Listen to the audio pronounciation here


Origin of the word

Old English me self, from me1 + self (used adjectivally); the change of me to my occurred in Middle English.


Meanings

Part Of speech

pronoun

Definition

used by a speaker to refer to himself or herself as the object of a verb or preposition when he or she is the subject of the clause.

Example

I hurt myself by accident


Definition

I or me personally (used to emphasize the speaker).

Example

I myself am unsure how this problem should be handled


Definition

used by a speaker to refer to himself or herself; I.

Example

myself presented to him a bronze sword



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36